It’s the small things…

Some times when you’re feeling depressed, all it takes is something small or goofy to bring a smile to your face and make the day go better. Case in point…
My oldest daughter is taking, Driver’s Education, and I pick her up when they are finished at 10am. Yesterday as I was walking out the door to go get her, I noticed that most of my cats, probably 9 of the 12, were all sitting in a circle around the base of a little tree that’s in my front yard. In a circle, and all looking up, very intently. A young squirrel, (who should have known better) was in that tree, and not too far out of reach from the "bloody hoard". I should have got my camera, but I wasn’t sure I could make it back in time before one of them realized that, "HEY, I climb this tree all the time, why am I sitting here?" So, I went out to shoo them away, and as I did, the squirrel saw it’s chance and made a break for it. The ensuing chaos made my day. It was like an old Three Stooges or even Keystone Cops routine. There was bumping of heads, running over each other, knocking each other down, and those that were sitting by someone they didn’t like, finally realized it… there was swatting and hissing, but they were all trying to follow the squirrel.
I was able to cut most of them off, but as the squirrel made another break (it had gone into my pine tree) it ran across the street. Squeeks, my favorite, and the fattest of the Cats was on it’s tail in a flash. We call her "The fatness" because she’s as wide as she is long, and I’ve never seen her move so fast! The squirrel made it to safety, and she came back looking dejected. I couldn’t stop laughing at my knuckleheads. It made my day… sometimes it really is the small stuff. BIG HUGS, Steph

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. _The_Gay_Dude
    Jun 24, 2006 @ 10:01:18

    It\’s most definitely the small stuff!

    Reply

  2. Harold
    Jun 24, 2006 @ 13:43:16

    AMEN …
     
    A joke.. a smile.. a kind word or two can change everything   ; \’ )

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Jun 24, 2006 @ 18:39:24

    Toooo Funny!!  You didn\’t need photos!!  I can picture it in my mind!!!  (I think the squirrel did it for his own amuement!!)
     
    xoxo    Bob~

    Reply

  4. Cheryl
    Jun 24, 2006 @ 20:07:48

    12 cats!  Wow what a big family you have.  Do they live in the house or outside?  That would be a lot of cat hair…

    Reply

  5. bobby
    Jun 25, 2006 @ 08:24:26

    hmm, wonserful!!

    Reply

  6. Rhiane
    Jun 25, 2006 @ 13:49:24

    That story made me smile🙂 I watch the stray cats around here do pretty much the same thing. Poor little squirrels. Well just stopped by on this rainy day here in Central Florida to say hello. Nothing else to do. ~Bye~

    Reply

  7. Leah
    Jun 25, 2006 @ 14:08:03

    Usually I have a little 2 1/2 year old stinky booties coming up to me about that time asking me "what\’s wrong mom mom?"  And then climbing on me and giving me "Kissy besitos, Kissy besitos. Bah lah lah lah.."

    Reply

  8. Indigo-XX
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 05:33:04

    HEY, I climb this tree all the time, why am I sitting here?"
     
    HAHAHAHA! (you nailed it on the head with this one. Perfect).

    Reply

  9. David
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 07:14:40

    When I am depressed, indeed a small thing often helps, sometimes two – from the bown bottle in the medicine cabinet.  If I ever found myself with 12 cats, I\’d take the whole bottle.  And send out for more. 

    Reply

  10. Nikki
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 14:34:56

    I can just imagine it all in my head!  That is so funny.  :)  You call ur cat \’the fatness\’…..I call my cat Fat Lump.  :) 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

