TV Memories 1960’s

I love music, all kinds of music… OK, some more than others. I’m not a huge fan of the old twangy authentic country,(for me that kind of music brings back memories of being 12, babysitting for a woman who’s husband would cheat on her all the time, and she would handle it by getting drunk, listening to country music and crying… while I was there! It made me feel frustrated and helpless.)  but I realize that other people do love it, and hey, that’s OK. lol
 
As a baby I guess I didn’t want my Mom to ever set me down. About the age of 5 or 6 months she found that if she propped me up with pillows I would sit, and watch, American Bandstand. I would watch and enjoy it. I was a Bandstand fan from that day on, right up until it went off the air.
 
My Dad was a teacher when I was very young, so I was around older kids a lot. I remember being about 4 and learning how to ‘twist’ , ‘jerk’, and do the ‘pony’. I guess I’ve always loved to dance too. (Just don’t get too many chances these days).
 
TV during the 60’s was great. Some of my favorites, Batman, Star Trek, The Green Hornet,(I was a fan of Bruce Lee, before I knew who Bruce Lee was),  The Avengers,(I wanted to be Emma Peel), Mighty Mouse, Underdog, Wagon Train (Clint Eastwood was yummy), The Ed Sullivan Show,(I remember seeing the Beatles, and Topo Gigio) OH and I used to think Red Skelton was THE funniest man on Earth. Dark Shadows, (we used to close the drapes and all the neighbor kids would get together to watch, and be scared). My younger brother loved, Combat. Every morning I would wake up early to watch, Captain Kangaroo. I loved when they had the animal segments on there.
 
I started remembering these when I was downloading some songs. I ran across the theme song for Mighty Mouse (I was in love with Mighty Mouse) LOL It got me looking for other theme songs. I need to get a domain in order to share them with you, but, I’m working on it. In the mean time, can you hear the theme from American Bandstand in your mind? The one I remember best isn’t the 60’s theme but the one Barry Manilow did in the 70’s.
 
Hope your day is going great! BIG HUGS, Steph

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harold
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 11:51:59

    Captain Kangaroo huh ??
     
    Heres an intersting lil fact about the captain…
    He was a Marine and earned the Navy Cross for his actions on Iwo Jima. The only higher medal he could earn was the Medal of honor.
    He won his the same day as Actor Lee Marvin won his.. on the same lading.. Captain Kangaroo was Marvins Sergant !!!  He gave Marvin  a lite cig when he came back across him on the beach… while wounded himself…. trully amazing
    Captains real name was…..Bob Keeshan

    Reply

  2. Jim
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 13:45:30

    Hey, a little learning here today, and I though the capt. was just there to keep green jeans in line!  He did have some big pockets on his coat. 
    JIm

    Reply

  3. trebor
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 15:17:41

    Oh, you and I could have great fun reminiscing about the good old days of TV. You\’re probably not old enough to remember Shindig or Hullabaloo.

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 22:04:38

    I LOVED Combat!  Still do!!!  Here\’s a REALLY old one for you!!  Ding Dong School!!!  LOL!!  Early 50\’s!!  And how about Winky Dink??  You had to get this plastic thing to put over your TV screen so you could draw on it and help Winky!!  LMAO!!!  Some kids didn\’t bother with the plastic thingy!!  Lots of pissed off parents!!  LOL
    Hugs,  xoxo   Bob~
     

    Reply

  5. bobby
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 22:51:39

    LIke ur blog a lot because there are so many fantastic things in it. This passage reminds me some good days in the past !

    Reply

  6. Nikki
    Jun 17, 2006 @ 04:28:00

    I LOVE mighty mouse!!!  Caught it a couple times on reruns on some channel.. It\’s so funny…. 🙂

    Reply

  7. BH
    Jun 17, 2006 @ 16:00:22

    I learned The Ways of Answer D to Question 2 many moons ago – thank goodness!!
     
    Loved your comments.
     
    Cheers,
    BH

    Reply

  8. David
    Jun 19, 2006 @ 12:09:57

    Red Skelton WAS the funniest.  I once stopped at some restaurant along the freeway and sat in a booth that had a little brass plaque saying that Red had eaten there on a certain date.   Howdy Doody – I attended a personal appearance by Clarabelle once.  There was a rip-off of \’lucy\’ called \’I Married Joan\’ that I loved.  The husband was played by Jim Backus – pre-Gilligan.  And staying up late if Dad wasn\’t home to watch "Your Show of Shows".  Imogene Coca was the funniest woman on Earth.  I saw her in a play once, years later, and she killed!  All my sibs and I HATED Topo Gigio.  "Aw Eddie"  Aw crap!   And who didn\’t want to be Eddie Haskell? – I still do! 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

