A “Boys” Story

My sister’s twin boys are always getting into mischief, and trouble. My kids of course love hearing about the latest adventures/episodes. Around here we call them, "the boys" and the stories will probably keep coming for some time.
 
 
I called my sister yesterday, just checking on her. I’m getting ready to burn a CD for her of, kids songs, silly songs, campfire songs etc. She said she and the kids were cleaning out the ‘boy’s’ bedroom (boys=her twin boys age 7 now). We were on the phone about 10 minutes when I hear a terrified little voice scream, "MOM, BIG FIRE!" My sister says, "Fire?" and the phone goes dead.
Knowing the trouble that her twins get into, I knew the boys had started a fire, but didn’t know anything else. I waited and waited, no phone call, so I figure it must be serious. I called her back, and sure enough she says, "The fire department is here I’ll call you later."
Well at least things were under control. lol
The oldest twin had gotten up above the stove where the matches are, took them outside and lit them. The youngest twin was the one that came running to tell "Mom." Good thing he did. They live out in the country, and the dry weeds were burning fast. The fire dept. said if the wind had been blowing, either their house or a neighbor’s house would have caught on fire. As it was approx a half acre of dry weeds burned. Lucky boys.
One of the firefighters was a lady who asked my sister how she was doing, (which wasn’t all that great), she told my sister, don’t worry, I was a pyro as a kid, they’ll grow up to be firefighters! LOL
She then offered to have an officer come out and ‘talk’ to the boys, put a little fear into them. From what my sis says, that should be happening this morning. LOL
 
Makes me thankful my kids are older, and that sis has good fire insurance!  Have fun today. BIG HUGS, Steph

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BH
    Jun 13, 2006 @ 10:45:15

    Wow.  I am so glad no one was hurt or worse.  This is one of those stories that families laugh about later as they reflect.  (Even though you probably want to strangle the boys now!!!) 
     
    I also think it\’s very important to have the authorities talk to the boy(s).  We did something similar last fall with our oldest son on a seperate issue and it had a huge positive impact.
     
    Cheers,
    BH 

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Jun 13, 2006 @ 11:03:29

    I would beat the hell out of booties. There is no way he would do that. And if he did, oh hell no, it is on like Donky Kong

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Jun 13, 2006 @ 15:59:54

    Holy Crap!!!  When I read the words… "My sister\’s twin boys..", I knew this would be a horrorfying blog!!!  Lil Chits!!!  So the firefighter said they would grow up to be firemen??  God help us all!!!!  I only hope that the "talk" the firefighter had with them put the fear of God in them!!  But probably not! 
     
    xoxo  Bob~

    Reply

  4. K.T.
    Jun 13, 2006 @ 20:33:45

    tsk tsk tsk…little trouble makers.  lol  It sure is good that they got the fire under control.  Yes, the firemen should have a "talk" with those 2 boys.
    I listed that pink bowl today.

    Reply

  5. bobby
    Jun 13, 2006 @ 22:17:23

    thankgoodness, it will give a lesson to the boys

    Reply

  6. SAAM
    Jun 14, 2006 @ 14:19:49

    Wow, is all I have to say
    SAAM

    Reply

  7. David
    Jun 19, 2006 @ 12:17:16

    You know, my bro Gary was a serious pyro and he DID grow up to be a firefighter (volunteer).  He was also a school dropout and wound up elected JP.   And this \’oldest twin\’, \’youngest twin\’ business – aren\’t we splitting hairs here?  (And if we are, it shd be \’older, younger\’; \’-est\’ is for 3 or more – aren\’t you glad I\’m back??)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

