Last Day of School!

Today was my girl’s last day of school, and the first day (half day) of Summer Vacation! Whooo hooo! I like being able to sleep in if I’m tired, and they are looking forward to it too!  It’s going to be a full summer, full of ball games, driver’s education, Mom being a Taxi, Swimming, Cherry Festival and Disneyland. Who knows what else? These Eclairs are the last thing that I do, every year on the last day of school. I make them for my girl’s class, and for favorite teachers from their past grades. This year I only had to make 45! (In past years when my boys were in school too, I was making in the 90’s and 100’s)
I started this when my oldest son was in 1st grade, and it became a tradition. Hard to believe I’ve been making these for 17 years!  Dinner is French Bread, Gallo Salame, assorted cheeses, fruit, and an eclair for dessert… if anyone complains, I’ll bury their body in the backyard with the rest! LOL BIG HUGS, Steph

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Jun 01, 2006 @ 17:03:20

    Oh they look so good.  That is so kind of you to do that and i am sure very appreciated.

    Reply

  2. Dwayne
    Jun 01, 2006 @ 18:17:54

    Yummy!

    Reply

  3. Stephanie
    Jun 01, 2006 @ 18:18:03

    Cheryl, (Photonut) If you see this, for some reason I can\’t get your blog to load!  I get that it\’s not responding. I had a question for you, if you were going to enter one of my flower pictures in a local county fair, which one would you enter? (I\’ll take opinions here people!) lol
    BIG HUGS, Steph

    Reply

  4. Nooner™
    Jun 01, 2006 @ 18:33:11

    These look so delicious!!!!
    Steph, At your sublimal suggestion, I put a cat Photo Album up and added my two little ones on there. I\’ll have to get more pics of them soon!
    Nooner

    Reply

  5. Kadrin
    Jun 01, 2006 @ 19:45:15

    Yummy, wish I worked at that school : )
    yer Mom and Dad are very attractive for sure, loved yer list of 8 qualities too, hugs Kat

    Reply

  6. Aaron
    Jun 01, 2006 @ 22:51:24

    Hey how\’s it going.  Hey I\’m having a vote over at my blog and could really use a vote from you.
    Aaron.

    Reply

  7. _The_Gay_Dude
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 03:24:31

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm those eclairs look good!

    Reply

  8. Harold
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 05:51:11

    no whipped cream n cherries ?????????  wink wink   LMAO

    Reply

  9. bren
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 06:28:59

    I see I\’m late – so I\’ll settle for licking the bowl if that\’s okay with you.

    Reply

  10. Greg
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 09:30:16

    OMG…Those look way too good…
     
    Not good for a guy still trying to eat right!!!
     
    WOW!!! The Kitty Cat can cook too…
     
    Your hubby has it good!!!
     
    Wanted to stop and and say…\’Nice share yesterday\’
     
    Get ready for some blessing train to come rolling by your house…
     
    Have an absolute spectacular weekend…K…Meow!!!

    Reply

  11. Bob
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 12:29:36

    YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Gimme Gimme Gimme!!!  Those look Deeeelicious!  Makes me wish I was back in school.
     
    I like Rosebud and Garden Party Rose the best!
     
    xoxo,   Bob~

    Reply

  12. Beach Bum
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 16:27:27

    Out blog walking tonight…great garden pix – but those yummy desserts…wow.

    Reply

  13. KatSoup
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 21:24:17

    OMG
    I could eat about 30 of these myself they look SOOO good.
    How do ya make em?
     

    Reply

  14. RAM
    Jun 03, 2006 @ 03:16:09

    OOO la la! These would make the mouth of a French Pastry Chef water! Not to mention add about 30 pounds to my backside! But I bet they are sooooo worth it!
     
    Mmmmmmmm! Where are you again? I\’ll be stopping by on my way back to France!
     
    Hugs,
    Ron

    Reply

  15. David
    Jun 03, 2006 @ 07:46:21

    Wow – a tradition.  I love traditions – I think thay are what some kids remember best.  This looks like a pretty good one.  Not like a nightly beating or something, although those, too, are memorable.   Sounds like a good summer.  I have never gotten over the expectation of having 2 and a half months off for summer.   It is yet one more reason to loath my job.  Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply

  16. Litespreader
    Jun 03, 2006 @ 09:21:57

    you are the best..  i\’m doing better now.  when can i move in??
     

    Reply

  17. spitfire
    Jun 03, 2006 @ 21:59:07

    Hi,
    nice photos!
    OK…hold up there…my heart and Spirit are in Tucson.  Yeah…It is hot…that DRY heat, LOL. But I love it (however, I will admit I feel like I am being fried right now!!!!!!!!!!). Besides sentimental & Spiritual reasons, I can\’t take the cold anymore.
    Looks like you can cook too.
    Oh I found you from KT\’s comments.
    I like your space.
    Have a good weekend!
    Dawn

    Reply

  18. Kelly
    Jun 04, 2006 @ 03:49:12

    those look yummy.. I want one, can ya mail them to North Pole?

    Reply

  19. K.T.
    Jun 04, 2006 @ 14:00:41

    K:  YUMMY.  I want some!!!!!!  I did throw all that trash back into the neighbors yard!  :)  110 is nothing, it hit 112 ysterday.

    Reply

  20. Indigo II
    Jun 04, 2006 @ 20:19:25

    Oh, no, none for me…I\’ll spoil my dinner and my diet will be trashed…er, okay, just a little one😉
     
    (I love "peachblossom 06 the most, Steph – gorgeous!)

    Reply

  21. Touly
    Jun 05, 2006 @ 20:07:33

    OOOOoohhhhhhhh nice job on the eclairs, i just hate when you get them from a store and the pastry part or is too soft or too had, it\’s gotta be juuust right. I like custard in them, when i was little, i\’d be a brat and eat all the chocolate off and leave the rest there for someone else LOL

    Reply

  22. EdgyKay
    Jun 07, 2006 @ 00:37:37

     
    E\’clairs rule. But did you know, Steph, that there are stores that SELL THOSE, ALREADY MADE?? (I apparently should have stopped by about 17 years ago; I could have saved you a BUTTload of time and energy.)
     
    Seriously. Those look delicious. But for some reason, the Powers That Be in Minnesota have decreed that No Homemade Treats Shall Cross the Threshold of a Public School. Ever. There\’s just something wrong  with bringing in a box of store-bought cupcakes, or handing out individual suckers for birthdays.
     
    I\’ve compromised. I buy a gallon of vanilla ice cream and a few liters of rootbeer and MAKE root beer floats. IN SCHOOL! NOT STORE-BOUGHT!
     
    I\’m quite the rebel.
     

    Reply

Leave a Reply

