I survived the Field Trip!

Well, I survived, and so did all the kids! lol
First, when I go to these things I dress for comfort, most of us Mom’s do, you know, nice but comfy clothes because we know we’ll be sitting on grass in a park, and doing a lot of walking, so comfy clothes and shoes are a must. What kills me is that there are always at least 3 Moms who seem to think this is a beauty contest. They dress up in really nice clothes, wearing heels (which is just stupid), hair and make up like they are in the Mrs. America contest. These ladies amuse me, but also make me wish and hope that the monkeys at the zoo will see them and fling poop through the cage at them and on them!
The grass at the park was a little damp, so, they went and sat in their cars to eat lunch, pfffft wimps!! lol
 
We got off to a late start, but made it to the nursing home just fine. It’s a VA Nursing Home, in Boise.
Our Honor Choir Teacher goes all out, she teaches them songs and how to play percussion instruments, (bongo drums, xylophones, steel drums, all kinds of different drums). The kids are really good and it adds to the performances, but, I always wonder when we go and perform for Nursing Homes… do these people really want to be here and listen or is it they are stuck in a wheelchair, put there by a nurse and have no way of escaping? lol Just something I always think about.
 
The Zoo was great. I always seem to get at least one child with a bladder the size of a pea, and one know-it-all… you know the type, very smart, but thinks he/she knows more than the Zoo Employees. LOL
This year I had a group of all girls, and it was like trying to herd a bunch of Humming Birds (with the attention span of gold fish). I wasn’t able to get many pictures because they would glance at the animals, maybe as a question, and then take off to the next exhibit. Ironically when it came time to having their pictures taken, THEN they cooperated, stuck around and really took their time. Sheesh!
We got to see just about all of the animals. It was during the hottest part of the day, so most of the ones I consider important (the cats) were inside sleeping. Side note, I really, really want an Ocelot or Serval!!!
When we were viewing the Tigers, one of them was half up against the Plexiglas and his bottom half was up against the fence. One of  my girls wanted to climb over the small wooden fence  to get to the metal fence where his back paw was. (She wanted to pet his paw) I had to convince her that it was NOT a good idea (although I was tempted to try it myself) and that they had cameras everywhere, and she would get in big trouble! Actually I have no idea if they have cameras around there or not, but hey, it worked. We all had a great time, and hit the gift shop on the way out. I hope you enjoy the pictures. BIG HUGS, Steph
 

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    May 18, 2006 @ 12:08:39

    Great pics…sounds and looks like you all had a great time ! lol…
     
    Ok and after I just re-read my comment on the previous entry …no I was not drunk….
    I did not "sued" to "wrok" there….I USED to WORK there…I\’m an idiot…big shocker I know lol
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  2. Bob
    May 18, 2006 @ 13:42:15

    Ah, the Zoo!!!  A really fun place to visit but not necessarily with a bunch of kids!!  But you are a great mom and group leader and I\’m sure you made it a fun day for them!  Really nice pics!!!
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  3. Cheryl
    May 18, 2006 @ 20:44:45

    I have done things like that and now my daughters are stuck going with the grandkids to chase the class around the zoo.  Lots of fun…Glad you went.

    Reply

  4. Leah
    May 19, 2006 @ 11:33:36

    glad you came out alive. No battle scars. Hope you are feeling better

    Reply

  5. Nikki
    May 20, 2006 @ 02:26:35

    Had your hands full, huh?  Glad you made it out…alive. 🙂

    Reply

  6. gary
    May 20, 2006 @ 05:20:51

    hi steph.. glad you had a good day out..i dont go to zoos..i know they are much better now ..but i saw too many bad ones many years ago..the one in barcelona was dreadfull..& i swore i would never spend another penny supporting a place like that..  animal welfare has improved hugely i know..just old habits die hard…
    what shoes am i.. black.laces but lose..so i can slip em on..comfort first..  do they look good..hell ..who cares..they will be looking at my smiling eyes & if female..falling in love hehehe ..yeah right…. 
    thanks for the visit steph..hope your days are treating you kindly..bye
    gary

    Reply

  7. Cheryl
    May 20, 2006 @ 09:12:17

    Thanks for the Birthday message that you sent me. Yes there is birthday cake and yes its chocolate with a cream filling
    hurry come and get some before it\’s all gone
    Hugs

    Reply

  8. Greg
    May 20, 2006 @ 14:58:59

    I\’m trying to play catch-up during my travels…
     
    However, I do not have my glasses with me in this hotel lobby in Batesville.
     
    Last race tonight then back to Branson tomorrow…
     
    I\’m trying to read about everything I missed and then everything goes blurry…
     
    Yep…Getting older…
     
    Oh yeah…My last wife would have been one of those who had to dress up…
     
    I remember saying…"Hey…It’s just a school function."
     
    Then it was… "Yes…Dear, you can do what you like."
     
    I can write how to have a good marriage book in six words…
     
    “Yes Dear…Your Right…I apologize!”

    Reply

  9. David
    May 20, 2006 @ 15:49:53

    As one who has been hit by flung Chimp poop, I can tell you yours is a curse not to be taken lightly.  I always am amazed at these high maintenance moms – models, no doubt, for those H\’wood flicks where the heroine spends 8 days lost in the jungle, getting her hair ever-so-slightly and ever-so-fetchingly mussed – and perhaps the sweetest little dab of mud on her tip-tilted nose.  As for the VA folks, probably they are glad to see the kids.  As an ex-inmate of various health and legal incarcerations, I can tell you that nearly any diversion is welcome.  Get the ocelot – he will likely eat your other cats – how could you lose? 

    Reply

  10. Harold
    May 20, 2006 @ 20:44:58

    Sounds like u N the kids had a good time.
    I just got back from a trip to Iowa….lmao. Took me 6 hours to get there n 5 to get back… go figure..lmao
    Hope the rest of the weekend goes as wel for ya.
     
    ZePp

    Reply

  11. Indigo II
    May 21, 2006 @ 21:08:01

    I\’ll trade trips with you?  Well, and you\’ll have to keep my sister.
     😉

    Reply

  12. Allissa
    May 21, 2006 @ 23:36:57

    Man, here I get to the office. Monday morning. I\’m tired and lazy. And then YOU give me homework. Sheesh! Ok, I will do my best to get you names, but I am WARNING you. I am a procrastinator so do not count on it anytime soon. Besides, this is going to be a bit more difficult than you think because if I go to the plant selling place they are going to tell me the SWAHILI name. So, I will ATTEMPT to help you…
     
    I think the old people really do like it when people come sing etc. I have done it many times and that I just my observation.
     
    I need a field trip!
     
    aak

    Reply

  13. Jade
    May 22, 2006 @ 07:05:07

    WOW!  I Love the pictures of the animals!

    Reply

  14. Nooner™
    May 22, 2006 @ 09:46:08

    Hi Steph,
     
    Thank you for your nice comment!!
    I\’m so glad to hear you feel the same way about your online buds and adore them for who they are and not what they look like. I fell in love with the ones I just met at the gathering way before I knew what they looked like .. and don\’t give a rat\’s a$$ what they turned out to be when we met!
    And, yeah, like you, I may not have given them a chance if I met them in real life. I\’m a male, and you know how we are … "Looks" is what attracts us initially to go up to someone in the supermarket (lol) and say "Hi .. my name is Nooney .. I was wondering if you were from Tennessee? .. No? .. Because you are the only 10 I see!"
     
    Nooner

    Reply

  15. Lisa Jane
    May 22, 2006 @ 12:46:04

    Hey steph !!!
     
    all i can say is thank you your comment was wondeful it cheered me up!!! As for the competition it seems i ve gotten people confused so ill re lay pout the blog its the nam with the hand who the poem must be about i think i ve confued everyone too muhc :S xxx
     
    I m so happy you commenetd on my space and im going to add you to my special frinds list xxx
     

    Reply

  16. Robina
    May 22, 2006 @ 14:52:02

    You took some great pictures, but you know what? The river scene is my favorite! It\’s just beautiful! And how\’d you get that shot of the tiger\’s mouth? Not taking chances, are you?

    Reply

  17. Dwayne
    May 22, 2006 @ 22:30:19

    On behalf of teachers everywhere, thank you for being a good chaperone. Tell your choir teacher that next year, the "plastics" should be in charge of designing a chaperone T-shirt. 

    Reply

  18. Kat
    May 22, 2006 @ 22:32:14

    Sounds like you had a good time.  Love the pictures, the goose one is my favorite.  We have all those darn pod seeds blowing around our yard; rather annoying really.  Daughter is taking a trip to the Dinosaur Museum Wednesday; I thought about going along but decided not to.  I\’ll probably hang around on the last day though, there\’s a huge school party happening with a BBQ and games, sounds like fun (why didn\’t we do that in school???).

    Reply

  19. Indigo II
    May 23, 2006 @ 05:35:54

    Steph: regarding shingles….how contagious?  Our paths didn\’t cross and I washed everything he might have touched…should I be concerned?  (sometimes being oblivious is best, ack!)

    Reply

  20. KatSoup
    May 23, 2006 @ 15:22:42

    Sounds like FUN!  I loved the pics of the cats you did get.  Everyone at the nursing home seemed to be having except maybe the guy in the (real nice electric) wheelchair.  i wonder that stuff too.  My Elvis neighbor goes to the nursing home and tortures – umm I mean entertaines them.
     
    Is this the last week of school there?  It is for my sisters kids here.

    Reply

  21. Mercy
    May 24, 2006 @ 11:11:43

    Thanks Steph for the good vibes…I need them this week!
     
    Thank goodness I have a four day weekend to cheer myself up!! I\’m glad your trip went well, my daughter has a field trip today and it\’s storming out!!! =( phooey…little black could this week I tell you…
     
    Take care,
    Mercy

    Reply

  22. Greg
    May 24, 2006 @ 14:23:20

    Meow!!!
     
    Checkin\’ the litter box???

    Reply

  23. Melissa
    May 24, 2006 @ 17:06:03

    Great Pics! Sounds like you and the kids had a great time!
    Take care,
     
    M~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

