A Day in the Dark Ages… well almost, kinda…

It’s amazing how isolated you feel when you don’t have phone service.
The people who owned this house before me, had planted a seedling of a Blue Spruce right up against the house, in the backyard.  Now, 7 years later it’s as tall as I am, and can’t stay there, so, I called my brother Michael who just bought some property in the country and asked him if he wanted it… he did, so, I said, come dig it up! lol (that’s the catch)
He came the other morning. I was in the shower and didn’t know he was here. He started to dig it up, and, in the process severed a big phone cable, and the cable line that was near it (I don’t have cable tv, so no biggie on that one). I’m out and about getting dressed and he knocks on the door, um, Steph, I think I cut one of your phone lines (I have 2). We checked and sure enough he did! LOL He cut both of them (when you do something, do it well huh?)
 I used his cell and called Qwest for repair, this was about 9:30-10am. The Qwest guys showed up at 3-4pm, and when I opened the door, one of them actually went, Ta Daaaa! LMAO
 I showed them the uncovered and cut cable, and they started to act like it was really serious, not sure how they were gonna handle it… and then they started laughing, said it was no biggie they would splice it together and how they appreciated that we hadn’t buried it. I thought buried it? Why would I do that? Well it seems that people who have done this in the past, have covered it back up, then reported, that for some weird reason their phone isn’t working… they have no idea why.
 I mean come on people how stupid is that? lmao Like the repair guys are gonna believe that a perfectly severed phone cord just magically cut itself? Tooo funny.
 Well I went most of the day with no phone,(and no computer), yes I went through withdrawls, felt isolated, like the last person on earth….
I LOVE my phone and computer! lmao
 
The youngest guy grew up in a big city and wanted to pet our rabbit, he was putting his hand out to do so and asked, does it bite? The older guy says, "Just you!" lmao Scared the other guy, and he jerked his hand out fast.
 They were very funny and a pleasure to deal with (not the norm for phone company people). So, I’m among the living and have some of my basic cave woman needs now met…. How’s your day going? (Grunts, mmmmmmmm PHONE, MMMMMMM COMPUTER, MMMMMMM POWER! Me Happy Girl!) LOL BIG HUGS, Steph

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harold
    May 09, 2006 @ 20:09:32

    yea.. isolation can be a real pain in da ass.
    Glad to see ya back up n running😉

    Reply

  2. Cheryl
    May 10, 2006 @ 03:03:33

    Glad to see you got it sorted, great blog by the way made me smile heaps
    Have a good day

    Reply

  3. Indigo II
    May 10, 2006 @ 05:20:49

    Your next few comments will now consist of some variation of, "Can you hear me now?"
     
    (welcome back!)

    Reply

  4. bren
    May 10, 2006 @ 07:29:52

    It takes TWO Qwest guys to splice a damn cable? Sounds like job security doesn\’t it?"Call BEFORE you dig"   <—- what the hell does that mean anyway? hahahahaha

    Reply

  5. Allissa
    May 10, 2006 @ 07:59:19

    I think I would be cutting the cables all the time to have some entertainment in my boring life! they sounds like a riot!
     
    aak

    Reply

  6. Melissa
    May 10, 2006 @ 08:53:12

    LMAO! SO people really bury their severed phone lines and have the gumption to say " how in the hell did THAT happen?)? Idiots. Thank goodness your bro didn\’t cut a power live underground….ZAP!
     
    btw: Those pics are great! Where did you take them?
     
    take care,
     
    M~

    Reply

  7. David
    May 10, 2006 @ 11:42:42

    I have been bitten by a rabbit; they chew on anything that doesn\’t move.  I was asleep and… 
    If someone severed my phone line it would be weeks before I noticed, probably.  I\’d be missing the nightly 6 p.m. call from the telemarketer, but other than that, no biggie. 

    Reply

  8. KatSoup
    May 10, 2006 @ 12:15:53

    OMG I cant believe repairmen shwed up on schedule!
     
    Welcome back _ I would just FREAK OUT if you were cut off for good!

    Reply

  9. Bob
    May 10, 2006 @ 12:16:30

    Great blog!!  I wondered where you were??  We all need more repairmen like those guys.  You should call Qwest and tell them!  Now, the important thing!!  How is the tree doing????????????????😮
     
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  10. Litespreader
    May 10, 2006 @ 20:37:58

    hi steph!!  funny girl.  ;

    Reply

  11. Panda♥princess
    May 11, 2006 @ 12:20:35

    Kitty~
    HI!! I love the Cat page very much!! Thank you!!^O^
    I must hang around the cute page~!LOL….
     
    BIG HUGS!! xoxo~~KISS
     
    PANDA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

