A little blarney for Cinco De Mayo

This may seem like trivia, but I think it is important to understand how dependent different cultures are upon each other.

 Most people don’t know that back in 1912, Hellmann’s mayonnaise was manufactured in England.

 In fact, the Titanic was carrying 12,000 jars of the condiment scheduled for delivery in Vera Cruz, Mexico, which was to be the next port of call for the great ship after its stop in New York.

This would have been the largest single shipment of mayonnaise ever delivered to Mexico.

But as we know, the great ship did not make it to New York. The ship hit an iceberg and sank, and the cargo was forever lost.

The people of Mexico, who were crazy about mayonnaise, and were eagerly awaiting its delivery, were disconsolate at the loss.

Their anguish was so great, that they declared a National Day of Mourning, which they still observe to this day.

 The National Day of Mourning occurs each year on May 5th and is known, of course, as…..

 

 

 Sinko de Mayo. (HEHE)

And last but not least…

Spanish word of the Day
For those who don’t understand some of the words, here is the
translation.
Órale – Alright
Ese – Dude
Ruca – Girlfriend/Wife
Sancha – Woman on the side
Pero – But

Today’s Spanish word of the day is "Harassment"

Jose’s parole officer asked him to use the word "harassment" in a
sentence. 
Jose smiles and says……. "Orale ese, my ruca caught me in bed with
mysancha, pero that’s o.k. because HAR ASS MENT nothing to me!"

BIG HUGS, Steph

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Greg
    May 05, 2006 @ 09:25:38

    That s our \’KittyCat\’…
     
    Always messin\’ with something???
     
    I have not been to the \’Titanic\’ exhibit yet…My oldest daughter has and I remember when that was my youngest daughters favorite movie. She even has the commemorative book.
     
    have an awesome weekend…Greg

    Reply

  2. Panda♥princess
    May 05, 2006 @ 12:56:24

    HI~~Kitty
     
    I checked the pic of deer~~LOL small likes ants… BUT I love it!!
    ^_^ I hope I can see more pics of your life and travel…
    enjoying~~~
    BTW,I will uploard some pic of "CAA international cats party in spring 2006"tommorrow…
    I tought maybe you should like it….now I have update my cat\’s new photos^__^
     
     
    hugs^_^ ………..Panda

    Reply

  3. Bob
    May 05, 2006 @ 14:16:49

    I had heard about that mayonaise thing too!! I wonder if they still use it alot, and if so, what for??? Hmmmm……… And how do you say it in Spanish?? Many questions!! lmao!

    xoxo Bob~

    Reply

  4. Leah
    May 05, 2006 @ 18:37:17

    wow that was impressive

    Reply

  5. Jess
    May 05, 2006 @ 19:42:13

    OMG ….lmfao
     
    Ok been to both stores…nada dammit !
     
    BUT I saw a chic with some almost exactly the same and about knocked her over trying to get her attention to ask her where she got them ! lol…seriously…but she was cool…thank gawd !
    Hot Topics !
    http://www.hottopic.com/
     
    Yay !!!
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  6. Harold
    May 05, 2006 @ 19:43:28

    NICE…. LMAO

    Reply

  7. K.T.
    May 05, 2006 @ 20:40:41

    LOL…you had me going there a while with that mayo thing. Heres something interesting about Hellmans Mayo, that some people out east may not know.  Hellmans Mayo is known as Best Foods Mayo, west of the Mississippi. That train ride looked like fun.

    Reply

  8. Nikki
    May 05, 2006 @ 22:15:32

    LOL!  That was so funny…..got me going for a while. 

    Reply

  9. Cheryl
    May 06, 2006 @ 04:46:58

    Loved those …hehe
    Have good weekend
    Hugs
    Cheryl

    Reply

  10. bren
    May 06, 2006 @ 09:56:47

    I feel a bit of guilt now – we did not have ANY mayo yesterday during the celebration

    Reply

  11. Cheryl
    May 06, 2006 @ 18:58:45

    isthat true?  That was a fantastic story…

    Reply

  12. RAM
    May 07, 2006 @ 15:16:25

    HOLY MAYO BATMAN!

    Is that really true? Hmmmmmm. The things one learns on these blogs. Always thought it was Cinqo de Mayo or 5TH OF MAY. Well cover me in Mayo and call me a corndog. HEY, GREAT POSTING! Thanks for stopping by my space and leaving such great comments. I will hopefully update the Momma Story in a few days. She is an amazing lady….I can\’t wait to share the rest of her tale.

    I will definitely be back to explore your world.

    Much Appreciation,
    Ron

    Reply

  13. Tim
    May 07, 2006 @ 20:21:19

    Hmmm.   Kinda reminds me of the Spanish word
    "choo-choo".  My Mexican-American colleague tells me the word has
    a Mexican/Spanish origin… as in, "If you come into my barrio, I\’m
    gonna \’choo-choo\’."

    He could be wrong… after all, he got his degree in Texas.🙂

    Happy Cinco de Mayo to all Mexicans!

    Reply

  14. L
    May 08, 2006 @ 03:22:28

    rflmao
    Alright you got me..but it\’s probably only because I\’m a gullible Canadian and we don\’t celebrate Cinco de Mayo here the way you do down there.

    Reply

  15. Jim
    May 08, 2006 @ 06:36:42

    Where can you buy some of that unconditional love stuff at?  I\’ll take 20 dollars worth!  Hope your May is as good as it sounds. 
    Jim

    Reply

  16. Greg
    May 08, 2006 @ 11:33:10

    Chooo!!! Chooo!!!
     
    have a good week…Greg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

