I AM shopping on May 1st

From what I understand, a lot of minority groups are going to boycott businesses tomorrow, May 1st, in protest of the immigration laws/bills/stuff that’s been proposed. I’m not huge into politics, and I grew up poor and hungry. I have no problems with immigrants coming to this Country, or working their asses off to get ahead. I AM against ( illegal aliens getting) handouts, free health insurance, free or almost free housing, special rules and help at schools that my children have no access to.  I AM against  people telling me that just because you are working in the US, but got here illegally, that you deserve the same rights and privileges as those who obeyed the laws and came here the legal way. You don’t, and there is no Country on this Earth that would think you do. So, you can boycott and not shop, but, I’m going to shop, and tell each store I’m in, that I appreciate them being there, and that they shouldn’t allow themselves to be intimidated.
A final note, this is MY opinion, and no I’m not going to argue with you if you feel differently. I’m a legal citizen of The United States of America, and my constitution says I can think and believe what I want, when I want (and so can you). Do you know of other Countries like that??
BIG HUGS, Steph

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Apr 30, 2006 @ 17:28:56

    SO True Steph!!!  I\’m gonna buy a new LCD TV tomorrow, Fill my SUV with gas, fire my Mexican gardener and go to Wal-Mart!!  It should be empty!!  LOL!!  Most of the Illegals would make good citizens, but unfortunately the few seem to always have the loudest voices!!  So send THEM back and close our borders!!!  And set up some laws for them to become citizens, like flying OUR flag (not below their\’s and upsidedown), learning OUR language and paying taxes instead of looking for handouts!!  If they want to live and work here?  Dammit, do it legally!! 
     
    HMPH!!!  LOL!  Putting my soapbox away now!!!!
     
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  2. Cheryl
    Apr 30, 2006 @ 18:07:51

    Well I am an Indian.  To us all of you are illegal aliens.  LOL
     
    It was a good post but I am sick of the immigrant deal.  I do agree with the no social services, healthcare, etc. till you are legal.  Golly, I wonder if I am legal…

    Reply

  3. Jess
    Apr 30, 2006 @ 18:22:15

    Ok…I won\’t go into my opinion on here…it would end up being a blog hi-jacking….but I do agree with you for the MOST part lol.
     
    Anyway…I am diggin\’ the paw prints….did you special orders those or…what ? lol…
     
    The bird shit is free for mine….came with the house !
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  4. Indigo-XX
    Apr 30, 2006 @ 18:32:11

    As long as the police aren\’t boycotting work, I won\’t worry ;) 
     
    (HUGS to you in regards to your always supportive advice, and the situation with your son…ugh, they\’re aging us too fast!)

    Reply

  5. Harold
    Apr 30, 2006 @ 18:50:56

    I have to agree mostly… only the American Indians are the only "Americans" .. all the rest of us white/black/yellow/orange/purple with stripes type people are immagrants. The majority of our families came here legally ( atleast I will assume that for this discussion ). I have no qualms about someone wanting to come to this country to improve themselves n the lives of there families.
    Back when I went to school I hardly had to buy school supplies… most of the basics the school had n provided. But every year the same number of tax dollars are used to support a growing number of children.. some of them illegals. They cant claim that there taxes go to that.. because you have to file a Tax Return with your social security number on it in order for your money to go to the schools.. your taxes that pay on food, gas, liquor ect. goes for highway projects.. building incentives.. repaying bonds.
    Come to this country legally and I\’ll yell for your right to do so. If your not legal.. get legal.
    Sorry for the long reply😛

    Reply

  6. SAAM
    May 01, 2006 @ 05:30:01

    I think that immigration isssue will always be one of those things that cause heated arguments and is never resolved
     
    You mean to tell me that you con\’t fold your underwear in neat rows, all colour coordinated????  How can you live.  Ha
    Have a good day
    SAAM

    Reply

  7. Michael T
    May 01, 2006 @ 15:13:05

    Traffic was light in Phx, AZ this morning.  Geee, most of the costruction crews must be starting late today.  After I realized that it was boycott day, I decided to go to a Mexican own restaurant to see if I could get a burro.  No problem.  I pulled up to the drive thru and stated that I was surprised that they were open.  The voice that came through  "we work for a living sir and love serving our customers.  What would you like sir?"  I was taken aback for a second and was happy with the comment.  I pulled up to the window and gave them my 5 dollar American bill and he accepted it without an issue.  When he handed me my food I asked him one more question.  "  Are you getting a lot of comments like mine, you know about being open?"  He laughed and stated that the phone was ringing off the hook, mostly wanting to know if they were open.  I laughed when he did and drove off.  I looked at the drive through and there must have been 10 cars pulled up to this little run down building. 
    So here is what I got out of this.   This country will allow law breaking aliens to march, shut down highways, burn our flag and fill our jails.  This country will also allow you to make your own decision, living and allow you to decide to make an honest living or march with criminals.  Gee, I wonder if I could organize a march in Mexico about all the cars in Rocky point with expired plates be almost  two to three years.  
     
    About your question on venom from a rattler.  The venom is actually in the head of the snake, in glands.   Once the snake dies, the gland muscles relax and then the venom with ooze out of the fangs.
     
    Thanks for stopping by.   I will be posting a clip from Rush L about legal aliens as soon as I figure out how.  I\’, not a big fan but he did get this right.  Stay tuned.

    Reply

  8. bren
    May 01, 2006 @ 18:25:19

    amen!  

    Reply

  9. Leah
    May 02, 2006 @ 11:33:12

    they had one chain of grocery stores close because of the walk. And it was a WHITE guy on tv telling us about the decision. WTF is that?

    Reply

  10. Greg
    May 02, 2006 @ 13:39:38

    I was over at Jenn\’s house and said one word about this…"Illegal"…That about sums it up…Right???
    I love cars…I working on a deal right now for a little toy to drive around in as a treat to me!!!
     If it works out I will do a \’Pimp my Ride\’ entry…
    I hope it all works out…I need to have the car check out first…
    Then I can go \’McCrusin\’…
     

    Reply

  11. Harold
    May 02, 2006 @ 14:48:18

    YES Steph…. CHEAP    :P:P  Nickle a ride ; )

    Reply

  12. Jess
    May 02, 2006 @ 14:59:25

    Totally okay girl !
     
    Ok so I went to Gordmans…all gone😦
     
    BUT there is another Gordmans….and tomorrow….I AM THERE ! lol….I mean…ya know how I HATE to shop and all…ahhhh lmfao
     
    I\’ll let ya know !
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  13. KatSoup
    May 02, 2006 @ 21:03:19

    I feel like you do too – see my comment at Brenda\’s.
     
    BUT
     
    I feel it must be said that, I live in a chicken county.  When we lose power its the chickens that get it back first. ALWAYS- chickens first.  That is how this palce stays alive.  I understand every job in the process from the chicken houses to the poultry plant is disgustingly gross.
    Mexicans do every one of these jobs it it a spanish speaking plant now. 
    im just saying, they work very hard and they do the living and working here that keeps this place going. They also spend lots of thier money in stores like mine. 
     
    That being said,  I still agree with you.

    Reply

  14. Jade
    May 03, 2006 @ 06:40:27

    How come the people who feel this way aren\’t closing Their shops?
    Read my entry for the 23rd🙂
    I enjoyed the visit – I like the paw prints, but you really shouldn\’t walk on your car tlike that😉

    Reply

  15. west_starlight
    May 03, 2006 @ 10:36:17

    I moved over…let\’s see what they say.

    Reply

  16. David
    May 04, 2006 @ 11:44:19

    I pretty much think about it by comparing the country to my personal home – whatever I would be happy with a stranger doing in my home, i am happy with a foreign person doing in my county.  Do I know other countries that allow freedom of speech and so on – well, yes.  I also know LOTS of countries where I feel a lot safer walking around alone.  I do notice that very little is said about what portion of the misery immigrants are fleeing from is caused by wealthy countries looting their home countries or fighting their little wars over resources in a distant arena.  Immigration may just be a case of chickens coming home to roost.  I have seen lots of these issues come up – involve everyone – then fade away.  I frankly fail to give much of a shit.  I think all the costs of welfare and services for illegals shrink to nothing in comparison to the looting of our resources by the upper half-percent with their golden parachutes, huge tax cuts and dodges, wars for personal enrichment and so forth.  Anytime the Lays and Delays are starting to get the spotlight – suddenly the news is full of some shocking social disorder, setting us all to fighting over the crumbs again. 

    Reply

  17. Michael
    May 04, 2006 @ 15:55:26

    Hey Steph…thanks for stopping by my space…
    ROFL at the worm comment…haha will rethink that next shot of tequila I ever have!
     
    I don\’t know what would happen if they sent all the illegal immigrants home…San Diego might go to hell in a handbasket!;) 
     
    Take care,
    Michael

    Reply

Leave a Reply

