The 80’s

Some of the blogs I read are doing a theme this weekend, it’s "The 80’s" so, that’s what I’m gonna blog about today. The 80’s, what I remember, what I was doing.
Hard to believe, what seems like yesterday was 20+ yrs ago. I think the best part of the 80’s was having my boys. I was working and traveling, did a short stint at a newspaper (had a perv for a boss who was always bugging me to pose for him, photos, and in a bikini of course! pffft Like I would just jump at the chance).
Music wise, I think what stands out the most, Spandau Ballet, Huey Lewis and the News, Wham, Michael Jackson, Thriller, The Police, Bruce Springsteen. I remember being in Acapulco about 1985 and a cute guy who worked at the hotel would come and talk to me while I was out by the pool, he saw that I had the Springsteen cassette and told me it was his birthday, and wouldn’t it be nice If I gave him something… LOL I knew he was scammin me, but he was cute and nice, so I gave it to him.  My Sharonna and George Benson’s Weekend in LA both hold special places in my life. I’ll leave it at that.  I loved George Benson, still do.
I got to see parts of Europe and take a Mediterranean Cruise. Spent a lot of time in Hawaii.
During the 80’s I lived in Oregon and Washington State.
TV shows I remember, well, like Bob, I remember MTV was actually about music and videos. I loved watching,Werewolf,  oh and Star Trek with Captain Picard started in the 80’s. I was never a "Dallas" fan, but I did enjoy, Night Court, Magnum PI, Moonlighting (loved moonlighting), Unsolved Mysteries, and yep I used to watch Three’s Company.
 
Movies, all the ones that Bob already posted plus, Goonies, Highlander, Beverly Hills Cop, Dirty Dancing, Better off Dead.
 
Toys, I remember the big Cabbage Patch craze. Because I had boys, I know who HeMan is, and not only still have him but almost all of the bad guys. When Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles came out, my brothers went crazy, and so did my boys, (yep I have tons of the originals) GI Joes, the small ones from the 80’s. Transformers, and Autobots. Have, have, have. lol Hotwheels, tons of them.  I remember the Care Bears, and My Little Pony, but my oldest wasn’t really impressed with them. lol Ghostbuster figures, yep and I still have them. OH Thundercats cartoon! My oldest loved that one.
 
My boys and the fun things we used to do, are some of my best memories. I remember being in the Theatre watching Ghostbusters, putting my younger son in his stroller and walking there. We used to walk all over the place, and in the summer the town we lived in had "playtime and arts in the park." My boys always loved that. When we lived in Sunnyside Washington, there’s a big Hispanic community there, so for Cinco de Mayo, they would close off main street and have a huge celebration. I tasted my first Fajita in the 80’s, and my first Fish Taco. Dang, now I’m hungry, guess I’ll go see what I have for lunch. Soooo, what are your memories of the 80’s? BIG HUGS, Steph
I don’t have a scanner, so, these are the only "80’s" pics I have to show…

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Litespreader
    Mar 25, 2006 @ 11:42:07

    wow, sooo many changes happened for me in the 80\’s.  steph, you have the most
    beautiful, captivating smile.   sounds like you did alot, and had alot of fun..
    and i always wanted to have one of those dress-up photos taken…

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Mar 25, 2006 @ 12:40:42

    Great blog Steph!!!! WOW!!  All those great 80\’s toys!  I\’m thinking…….Ebay????  LOL  I had forgotten about all those TV shows!!  And I Loved the pics!!  Big Hugs!!!!!!
     
    xoxo Bob~

    Reply

  3. Cheryl
    Mar 25, 2006 @ 15:15:15

    Fantastic blog, loved the memories you gave me. OMG those TV shows you remembered too ,Captain Picard I forgot about him and Moonlighting, loved Bruce Willis in that
    Think you have a good memory, have a good weekend
    hugs
    Cheryl

    Reply

  4. Jnutsaz
    Mar 25, 2006 @ 15:19:54

    80\’s Weekend, eh? I\’m always a day late and a dollar short. Guess, I\’ll see what I can muster. Unfortunately, I\’d prefer to forget a lot of that time, since it was spent in a bar. Great photos, great smile.

    Reply

  5. Jess
    Mar 25, 2006 @ 16:06:52

    Oh…I\’m lovin\’ all the 80\’s blogs !!
     
    Great job…and I\’m lovin\’ the pics !!
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  6. lisa
    Mar 25, 2006 @ 18:46:06

    hiyajust popped over from Garys blog to see your 80s memories my brother was into the thundercats and turtles and moonlighting you remeined me of that I used to love that aswell the last one was so sad. Looked like you had lots of fun way back then, and i no what you mean it doesnt seem like that long ago
    anyway take care Lisa x
     

    Reply

  7. Greg
    Mar 25, 2006 @ 22:41:22

    Cool pics there babe….You kind of remind me of a girl I dated in college.
     
    However…I have to tease you about listening to Wham…You should not admit to that…
     
    How did you know this faith man sometimes has to take med\’s???
     
    Good stuff you shared to Liz…
     
    Have a wonderful Sunday…
     

    Reply

  8. Cynthia
    Mar 25, 2006 @ 23:28:04

    I listened to Wham!, not sure if I should even admit to that or not. I remember big hair and lots of hairspray for the 80\’s and wasn\’t spandex the big craze? Rather a bad craze, very bad actually! Great site you have and I\’ll be back to visit again! Take care! ~Cynthia

    Reply

  9. linda
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 05:22:02

    WOOHOO! 1980\’s yes you and I had a few things in common… Loved reading about your experiances and especially the music (some of those bands I saw in person)  I am demanding atleast ONE picture of Missy Pinky, or I plan to riot and steal her shoes, hit her where her toes count!  Hold them hostage if she does not produce,  hey we all put alot into this for the sweet lovely…….Will be like a soap opera next week "As the Shoe Turns" she will be barefoot and writing on her refrigerator HELP!  If she does not show her MUG!   ( oh ya this song Venus rocks… on her space also lol)
    Love and Fun from California.  Linda

    Reply

  10. KatSoup
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 07:14:55

    Gosh, You remember EVERYTHING.  Some of that stuff i havent thouht of for years.  I guess Ill have to think about what the 80\’s meant to me.  Good entry.  
     
    OH YEAH< YOU are getting a new PuTeR!!!!  Oh I cant wait for "CSDay" now.
      Please help spread the word on your space too.
     
    big "K" with a lil\’ tounge🙂

    Reply

  11. gary
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 07:51:43

    hi steph.. enjoyed the blog & piccys immensly..  hell it dont seem like 20 odd years ago does it..  strange but its the 70s that stick in my mind..the 80s were filled with babies & work..  another weekend maybe..  bye
    gary…

    Reply

  12. Indigo-XX
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 08:00:46

    Whoaaaa…I missed the 80\’s weekend?  Well, if that isn\’t the story of my life! 
     
    I graduated HS in \’85, went to college in \’86, joined the army in \’87 and got married in \’88 so my life was a whirlwind.  I doubt we\’ll EVER experience better music than what came out during this time period, though. 
     
    Thanks for the fun trip down memory lane…minus the big hair!😉

    Reply

  13. account deleted
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 15:24:40

    I remember Michael Jackson was so cool back then…
     
    Like you I had my first kids in the 80\’s. Boy and girl so I got both sides of the toy phases.
     
    1988 is when I moved back to Minnesota from Washington, DC.
     
    Add Knot\’s Landing to the TV show list…
     
    Otherwise you got it mostly covered… cept don\’t forget Boy George and Prince!
     
    ________________________________________________________________
     
    Thanks for the comment you left me on my blog. The reason I don\’t take antidepressants is they never helped me enough to make up for all the side effects I got along with them. If there was one that would make me feel good I would take it. Yes, I am counting on faith to cure me now, but I will take an occaisional Xanax when my anxiety gets really bad.
     
    ___________________________________________________________________
     
    It\’s nice meeting ya!🙂
    Liz
     

    Reply

  14. account deleted
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 15:26:39

    Oh yeah — add Nerf Guns and Super Soakers!
     

    Reply

  15. Kadrin
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 16:44:30

    Still whistling "Karma Kamelion" hehehe, you have a nice smile : ) hugs and lol on yer spid er story Blabby

    Reply

  16. Harold
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 20:44:03

    Hmmmmm 80\’s huh ??  Wasn\’t my decade.. oh lived in LA thru part of it.. did a little extra schooling…
    Most of the music I didnt get into  ( Wham ?????   Need I say more ? :P  )
     
    Wasn\’t that the era of "Flash Dance", and the dancers leg warmers too ??  Ah  the big hair.. Miami Vice n the pushed up arms on the jackets.. Don Henley laid out some good music….
    Also "Little Shop of Horrors", "Rocky\’s Horror Picture Show",  and what was that other cult classic in the same vain.. Something Queen.. or Queen something. Dont remmeber..wasn\’t my thing..lol
    Saturday Night Live started its slow slide downhill.. don\’t think the orginal cast will ever be topped !!!!
    Remeber sitting and watching the first broadcast of MTV in the area.. it was actually music n videos that went along with them.. the bands idea of the song usually.. now.. its more of a show for Metrosexualls.. or boys on the hood.. life styles of the rich n shameless….pimp my ride..lol
    Thats another show of the times… Lifestyles of the Rich n Famous…. Fatnasy Island… ( the plane boss.. the plane…)
    Loved The Next Generation… Picard ruled !!!  Make it so   : D  Loved Night Court myself  but I thought Highlander was a early 90\’s series ??  The movie came out in the 80\’s I think .. not sure now…lol
    Anyone remember the movie "Outland "  Sena Connery stared as a marshall of a mining outpost on Io  I think it was.. a moon of Jupiters.
    Arcades were a big place to hang out.. all the latest games in those great big stand up machines ( PacMan.. wakka wakka wakkka…)   …… that now your kids play on your tv.
    Cell phones where the size of your lunchbox.. lol.. well not that big.. but if you was there you remember😉
    Vinyl record players were the thing.. for you children thats those big plastic things that your parents used to play there music on 😉
    The Olymipics where trying to get back to normal after the 76\’… or was it the 72\’ kidnapping and murder of the athletes.. sorry bit fuzzy during those times… lol
     
    I was still living the 70\’s rebel life… Sex, Drugs, And ROCK n ROLL 😉😛
    Anymore all I get is the rock N roll…  lol
     
    Good idea for a blog… may start a 70\’s one in a week or two  ;)   or       Where was U at when…. ????
     
    Have a great start to the week😀
    ZePp

    Reply

  17. Greg
    Mar 26, 2006 @ 21:39:48

    Arrrrrrr….Excuse me!!!
     
    Helloooo!!!
     
    Please…Please…Please…Turn down that \’Milli Vanilli\’…
     
    Question…If you do a Milli Vanilli song in a Karoke Bar…
     
    Do you need to lip-sync???

    Reply

  18. Allissa
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 01:54:57

    Ummm…errr…aaaahhhh…hmmm. Well I was born in the 80\’s….
     
    aak

    Reply

  19. KatSoup
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 09:35:23

    We are in sync today.  Just as I was publishing my new entry. (not on the 80\’s)  you were commenting.
    HA!
     
    Gotta do real work today but, as you can see Im screwing off instead.

    Reply

  20. _The_Gay_Dude
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 09:58:04

    The 80\’s were a great time…..and VH1 is more like what MTV used to be…..I love Moonlighting, also!
    And my first rock concert I went to was the Police\’s Synchronicity tour in 1983…..I was 8 years old, LOL

    Reply

  21. Jim
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 10:40:34

    Love the pictures, the eighties, I was recruiting for the Air Force in New Orleans 84 -90.  The early 80\’s 81 I came home from Turkey, to Washington D.C. had some parties there! Then moved on to Montgomery Ala until 84. I liked the place and made some good friends. It would be fun to do it over again.  Weekend was better, at least I felt better, thanks for stopping by to see.
    Jim   

    Reply

  22. bren
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 12:36:52

    I don\’t remember much about the 80\’s – well, I do, but it\’s shitty things – the kind of things best left buried🙂

    Reply

  23. Cheryl
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 13:03:46

    The 80\’s started with a bang…my divorce was finalized, I was a single parent with 2 littel girls, I moved from Minnesota to norhern Wisconsin so I could work days, I had an affaairtht lasted 3 years, I got a big career break and came to Houston, I was in a hurricaine and still moved here with the kids, I worked my butt off and flew to 2 cities a week, i raised my kids by phone and a nanny, I never took time to listen to music, watch TV or go to movies.  I guess i was a workaholic.  I was crazy and am shocked my kids are not incarcerated.

    Reply

  24. Mercy
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 15:11:44

    Just roller skating through…Mercy

    Reply

  25. K.T.
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 18:37:19

    The 80\’s?  Do you expect me to remember things that happened in the 80\’s?  Geesh, I cant remember what I did yetserday!!!
    Oh Oh…I do remember 2 things, the Cubs lost in the playoffs in 84 and 89….BAD memories.

    Reply

  26. EdgyKay
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 21:15:52

     
    I believe the greatest thing about the 80\’s is the entertainment provided to us today when we revisit the hairstyles and wardrobes of those years.
     
    Fortunately, I was a rather huge loser, so I was never the proud owner of that ratty mall hair with the bangs all jacked up to Jesus, and I never much cared for those dreadful "acid-washed" jeans. Lucky me. I was busy saving my money for beer and cigarettes for the first half of the decade, and for diapers and doctor bills the second half.
     
    Are you the beautiful brown girl in the pictures?
     

    Reply

  27. Leah
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 21:25:44

    Thundercats HO! Dude I love that and Fast Times, and Picard in fact i think I have two movies they made. I LOVED Gonies and monster Squad I just got that on DVD. Send some of those Hot Wheels over this way Booties loves them. Cars Crash, yeah. I love all those things too. Those were my formative years, Bon Jovi.

    Reply

  28. Melissa
    Mar 27, 2006 @ 22:01:02

    I missed out on the 80\’s theme this weekend. No one lets me in on anything! lolI\’ve seen your comments all over the place and for some reason have never stopped by……..so I\’ve been reading a few of your etries , trying to get the "down-low" on you…lol. Glad I stopped by! I will be returning often….MWAHAHAHA!btw: thanks for the Easter stuff to snag!Peace,Melissa0

    Reply

Leave a Reply

