Life, it’s twists and turns… anyone have a road map?

One of Zepp’s latest blogs was about a conversation he had with a friend, about what our life is, and as kids/teens, what we wanted it to be. Hopes and dreams, plans, expectations.
Most of my young life I dreamed of travel to far off places, and I loved knowledge, I admit, I would read encyclopedia’s for enjoyment. I love the Ocean, and decided very young that I wanted to be an Oceanographer. If ever asked that’s what I would say I was going to be. Then some place between Jr. High and High School, I found out, I’m a terrible sailor, just look at me wrong and I get sea sick. An Oceanographer spends between 50-60% of their time at sea, collecting data, performing experiments. OH, and that damned movie Jaw’s didn’t help either! lol So sailing the Sea’s wasn’t for me, but, I still wanted to travel. While in High School, I decided I wanted to be a Flight Attendant. I did all kinds of research and planning. What could be better than to have a job that paid you to travel? Then I flew on a commercial Airline… I had waited tables before and hated it. I hope i’m not stepping on anyone’s toes, but, it was like waiting tables AND having to deal with drunk rude businessmen. I knew that was not something I’d enjoy, travel or no. After graduating High School, I did all kinds of jobs, one was working for a couple of really nice ladies (Karen and Nancy) at their Daycare. I got to play with the kids, have meals, practice my German, (Nancy was married to a German gentleman, and their daughter spoke both English and German), one little girl’s Mom was a nurse, I learned to keep a straight face when a 3 year old tells me she has to BM, AND, my favorite… when it was naptime, I got to recline in the vibrating recliner and take a nap while the kids did. It was a sweet deal! Karen, one of the owners knew that I had the dream to travel. Her husband at the time was a manager of a Travel Agency. He was Japanese, hot tempered, and went through a lot of employees. Next time a position came up, she had me go in and apply. I was the only one to call back and enquire if the position had been filled, so, I got the job. I will say, the years I was there, we had a revolving door of other agents. I think growing up with my Father being the way he was, I was able to handle things better, and, I always knew that no matter what, he, his whole family were honest, and treated me well. Trying to make a long story short… lol I quit to be a Mom when I got pregnant with my oldest son, but when he was a year old, I got a phone call from some businessmen who wanted to open a Travel Agency and asked me to Manage it. It was exciting, building it from the ground up. I even enjoyed the paperwork, and dealing with the P.U.C. Between both jobs I had the chance to travel almost every place I’ve wanted, and had some wonderful benefits. It got to the point where I was gone every weekend though, which was too hard on my son. Hardest thing I’ve ever done was quit that job to be a full time Mom. I no longer had people telling me how great I was, how smart and how much they needed me. Gone were the free weekend trips, and flying First Class, but, once I got over that I was fine, great even! My kids have taught me more, showed me more, strenghtened me more than any job or stranger could have. They took a selfish, self centered person and taught her what love really is. I wouldn’t change a minute… even though I have TONS of grey hair because of them! LOL So, even though I really never set out to be a Mom, I can’t think of anything better to be.
Now, I wanna know what you wanted to be when you were growing up, and if that’s what you became or did life take you down a different road?
BIG HUGSSS, Steph
 
 
 
(What our pets do when we aren’t around!) lol

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Mar 20, 2006 @ 14:23:21

    That was nice!!  I\’m glad you got to do something that you really enjoyed, even though it had to end because of a more important job.  I always wanted to be a musician and got to do that for over 10 years, so I\’m happy about that.  Why in the world I ever became an accountant is beyond me since I was never good at math in school! LOL  Must have been the regular paycheck!
     
    xoxo  Bob~
     

    Reply

  2. KatSoup
    Mar 20, 2006 @ 14:55:47

    i didnt want to work.  i thought i would be glamorous, i would be famous and very rich.  i was probably going to be a movie star.  I was sure I would have a sprawling estate, with servents for my every need.
    Isnt that crazy, But I really thought you could be famous if you wanted to be.

    Reply

  3. Kadrin
    Mar 20, 2006 @ 17:52:21

    love that 1st cartoon : )OMG I wanted to be a psychiatric patient 1st at age 6 as my moms fav charactor on One life to live was a multiple personality so I thought that would be cool, then a ballerina, but my legs got too chubby, lets see then……….someone who dispensed pills to people, so either that was a dealer/a psychiatrist or a pharmacist………..hehehe turns out I was dispensing meds to wacked out teens for the past 25 years so that one came true : P, hm then I wanted to be a teacher and ISIS at the same time, I loved her dress a wristbands, then a singer, which I got to do for a few years, had my own band, then life caught up and i been in mental health since, not as a patient…..yet………..theres still time though. hugs Bl;abby

    Reply

  4. Harold
    Mar 20, 2006 @ 19:26:44

    hmmmmmmm… I recognize that question…. 😛
     
    I wanted to be a marine biologist… untill I grew up not knowing how to swim ( yea I know.. I know.. old man that dont know how to swim ?? n loves the ocean ?? ) Then it was astronamy that caught my eye… have retained the love of space anyway… After I thought I wasnt cut out for school any longer I have done …. ohhhh   dozens of things… from assembly work… warehouse.. construction ( from tile to deck to frame-in )….attendant (gas stations.. not flight ;)  )…. cook….delivery ( food n furniture…hated both ) .. buyer for a arts/crafts supplier… so basiclly a jack of all trades.. master of none.  ( had to double check n make sure I didnt add an extra F to the word OF    :P:P )

    Reply

  5. Nikki
    Mar 20, 2006 @ 21:21:01

    I guess I don\’t really know what I want to be….I used to.  So far I\’m doing what my dad wants me to be.  I wanted to write….was actually having some fun in high school winning some awards for writing, but that\’s not really what my dad had planned for me.  Instead of going to school for journalism, I got a business degree and now working on my masters.  Its not too bad….not great, but not too bad either. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Rose
    Mar 21, 2006 @ 03:16:44

    Thanks so much, welcome to my country and my family. someday, we get together to visit Guangzhou with Tom ?   Rose

    Reply

  7. Indigo-XX
    Mar 21, 2006 @ 05:34:33

    OMG..that last photo of the cat in the clothes hangers???  I just took one like that a few days ago (only my cats don\’t sleep so he\’s rummaging through hangers, knocking down clothes, taunting the other cats to get up there with him).
     
    I always wanted to be an archeologist.  Always, always, always.  I\’ve been to a few of the sites I wanted to dig, but it\’s not quite the same.

    Reply

  8. Greg
    Mar 21, 2006 @ 10:21:25

    Wow!!!
     
    I will not go into details but Geez!!!
     
    We are a lot alike…
     
    I\’m just glad I was able to be a dad…
     
    I really enjoyed what you shared…Blessings Kitty…

    Reply

  9. Jess
    Mar 21, 2006 @ 13:41:08

    Oh man…I want to be a doctor so bad ! And the thought of it still tugs at my heartstrings sometimes !
     
    But…well…I\’m a mommy…so now that\’s what I do..and it\’s fine and dandy with me most of the time lol.
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  10. bren
    Mar 21, 2006 @ 18:45:58

    The surprises that life provides huh? What a lovely entry Steph. Marine biologist, that\’s what I wanted to be.

    Reply

  11. Harold
    Mar 21, 2006 @ 20:39:47

    oh yea,,, wanted to tell you…
    I have collected alot of cat pics for a friend of mine.
    I will have to post them in my space for you to check out.. lol  Think you will love some of them 😉
     
    Z

    Reply

  12. K.T.
    Mar 22, 2006 @ 07:18:57

    You were so lucky to travel like that.   Where have you been?   I\’ve only started exploring the rest of the world these past few years, now I\’ve got the bug and must see it all before I\’m too old.  Thanks for the nice comment yesterday, and the chat too..

    Reply

  13. Kat
    Mar 22, 2006 @ 11:04:51

    Hello just passing threw i love the kitty pictures there just too cute🙂 kat

    Reply

  14. Jnutsaz
    Mar 22, 2006 @ 15:19:16

    Hmmmm. The first thing I ever remember wanting to be was an oceanographer. Later, the only thing I truly wanted to be was a good dad. It didn\’t matter what I did for a living. Artist was something I was, never thought of getting paid for it. Now, I\’ve spent an entire life with pen in hand, never did get to the ocean.

    Reply

  15. Cheryl
    Mar 22, 2006 @ 18:48:59

    I wantedto be an astronomer and instead became a drug addict.  Got into recovery and became a mom.  Went back to school to become a therapist.  Moved up the ranks and became a CEO running hospitals and psyc units. Bacame a grant writer and did real good.  Now partially retired and a full time grandmother.  I loved every minute of it…

    Reply

  16. Harold
    Mar 23, 2006 @ 09:33:30

    WANTED TO TELL YOU THAT I UPLOADED A BUNCH MORE ANIMAL PICS… HELP URSELF TO THEM;)

    Reply

  17. KatSoup
    Mar 23, 2006 @ 15:19:39

    my life obviously didnt pan out like I thought.  I am comfortable and am able to put a lil away.  I have worked at a zillion jobs from working at a sawmill to changing diapers of elderly men.
    My life still changes all the time.  I just try to roll with the punches.
     

    Reply

  18. KatSoup
    Mar 23, 2006 @ 15:21:00

    oh and PS. about whats in your purse….
    YOU\’VE GOT MY MOMS PURSE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

