My mind wanders, a few of my ADD thoughts for today.

 
I went to my youngest daughter’s band concert last night. She’s in 5th grade and playing the clarinet (she’s actually really good for her age). She practices without being told, amazing, I know. lol Her little 5th grade band played 3 very short songs. The theme for the night was, Western. I love these guys they are so cute and excited about everything, but, I will say, I was glad that they were short songs. I know, they are just learning, but the little guy that sits next to my daughter was blowing some really loud ‘clinkers’, and I think, knowing this boy, that most were on purpose.
 
 
I played in the band when I was in 5th grade,  played drums. It seems like yesterday, it was me and two other boys, Todd and Brian. I had a huge crush on Brian, not that it matters, I just remembered that. lol I remember thinking that we sounded so good, and from a parent’s perspective, I now wonder.
The band teacher had all the bands play, up to the concert band of high school kids. They were really good and played, "The Magnificent Seven."  I’ve always liked that one.
Their band leader is a Woman, but is very "Pat-like." (remember the character Pat on Saturday Night Live?)
 
Today I went to a Mall that I haven’t been shopping in for a very long time. I remember taking my oldest son there when he was just 6 months old and getting his picture taken. He just turned 23. Being there and remembering like it was yesterday that sweet little baby, and how fast everything has gone. I almost started crying.
 
 
On a different note, I was listening to the TV the other night and heard that one of the Award shows coming up has gotten permission to use the words, Bitch and Ho, during the broadcast. I didn’t hear what award show it was gonna be though. Kinda funny when I think about it, I mean they can’t even say ass on TV, and yet they ok’d that? Is there a music awards show coming up? Ho seems to be a staple of music lately. Sometimes I wonder where the ‘class’ has gone. Can you imagine someone like Sir Lawrence Olivier (if he were still alive) at the Oscars and doing a short intro with someone and hear him say, "Oh please bitch, you know she’s a ho!" Ah well, just thinking.
 
 
 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. You
    Mar 01, 2006 @ 17:50:11

    Wat Amusin\’ … ! Couldn\’t Let Myself Stoppin\’ …. LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL ..

    Reply

  2. Kadrin
    Mar 01, 2006 @ 18:25:36

    Hi, Loved the Calvin and Hobbes cartoon, I have all thier works, brings out the calivn and the hobbes in me : )
    Kat/Blabby

    Reply

  3. Harold
    Mar 01, 2006 @ 18:37:57

    I love your cartoons, great additions to the blog😉
     
    I myself was never musiclly inclined, as the saying goes… I couldn\’t carry a tune is a bucket   lol
    Have been to a few schools concerts of  niece or nephew…. and I can understand your likeing the short songs.  LOL
    But that gives them the appreciation of music, and if they can grow that talent.. more power to them. Everyone needs an outlet or form of expression.
     
    And yes I had heard that also about the changes in the FCC rules to allow those words in teh broadcast. I think its kinda funny for THE land of freedom to have so much cencorship in our society. So many words that can not be said for fear of offending someone. protecting the children is one thing, but I have seen some kids that could almost give a sailor a run for his money when it comes to foul langauge. Not that they get it from TV or videos , altho I must admit thats where SOME of it comes from, its from the general world around them.. parents friends of parents.
     
     As for Sir Lawerance uttering those words the shock waves wouldnt have stopped for days. lol    would have had me rolling !! only thing I would have found funnier was Maurice Chalvier ( << probaly not spelled right) singing his song like… Thank Heaven for little bitches.. for they grow into hos everyday…..     LMAO    Incase you do not know the reference He was a frenchmen that sang the song  "Thank Heaven for little girls"   He must have been in his 50-60\’s or so when  I first heard it in a movie that my mom used to like.

    Reply

  4. Litespreader
    Mar 02, 2006 @ 06:48:53

    ch ch ch ch ch changes…  i love change, but it\’s hard to let go of the \’good old days\’ sometimes.
    right now, i\’m trying to integrate doing that and making room for the new.  don\’t know if that makes
    sense, but anyway…  back to work.   steph, i hope you have a wonderful day.  peace.  t

    Reply

  5. Greg
    Mar 02, 2006 @ 09:05:44

    KittyCat playing drums…How come that does not surprise me?
     
    Hmmm…Chasin’ boy’s back then too!!!
     
    Meow!!!

    Reply

  6. Ms Noanie
    Mar 02, 2006 @ 09:44:11

    Loved the cartoons!
     
    I know what you mean about the nostalgia.  What gets me teary eyed is when I look at pictures of my kids when they were little.  I\’ve been going through my pictures lately to find some to get copied and then I\’ll frame them.  My kids are, OMG!  almost 29, 28 and 24!!!  Damn I\’m getting old!

    Reply

  7. Bob
    Mar 02, 2006 @ 17:43:53

    Great blog today!!  I go through that nostalgia thing quite often lately.  Then I start twitching and shaking and end up peeing my pants!!  Must be getting old!!!  Drums huh?  Sounds about right for you; drums or maybe cymbals!  Something to take out your frustration on.  Maybe you should take them up again and practice while everyone  is sleeping!! Tell them music is soothing!!
     
    Yep, I remember my days in a band,   (twitch twitch, shake shake…………. Ah Geez!!!!!)
     
    Gotta go now!!!  LOL
     
    xoxo Bob~

    Reply

  8. Harold
    Mar 02, 2006 @ 20:27:41

    Name an author Stephanie.. I\’ll tell you the book I would recommend 😉
    My tastes in Sci-fi are varied😀 I\’m also a Sci-fi movie junkie.. lmao But I must say i get a little tired of the campy ones.
    Hope you day went well 😀
     
    Harold

    Reply

  9. Cheryl
    Mar 02, 2006 @ 21:29:26

    That brought back the memories.  The malls and getting baby pictures and once my 3 year old daughter got lost in the mall.  I had told her as we were walking in that I had to go to the Singer store for something and then we were looking at toys at Pennys.  Net thing I knew she was gone.  I thot she was a dead gonner and had security there and then I thot to go down to the Singer store and there she was in the doorway waiting on me….  Oh the memories…she is now almost 40 and I know if I am old and not thinking right all I have to do is find Singer and she will know…

    Reply

  10. Jim
    Mar 03, 2006 @ 16:02:42

    I\’m not in a bad mood, just venting a little the people I would like to kick are local, dumb and a pain in the ass, but such as life.  Hope you have a good weekend!!
    Jim

    Reply

  11. bren
    Mar 03, 2006 @ 18:41:00

    Good lord girl! your mind did do a wander Thanks for the ride

    Reply

Leave a Reply

