Final Warning, One day until Valentine’s Day!

I’m Room Mom for my daughter’s class (5th grade) We are having, pink floats (raspberry cream soda with vanilla ice cream, pink and red sprinkles) Cupcakes, heart shaped jello jigglers, and what ever else gets sent, probably some sugar cookies. These guys are so cute, I love how excited they get, and how appreciative they are. I usually get some little valentines from them, which sadly will be the only thing I get! lol They are sweet though, and it could be worse.
 
I was going to post today about Valentine’s Day, and how when a Woman says, "Oh nothing" when you ask what she wants on this wonderful holiday, it really doesn’t mean, Oh nothing!
Brenda, (junquedujour), beat me to it, and her post is so perfect, I’ve stolen it to post here. Gentleman, take note…..
 
 
Please understand the difference

With the Valentine’s day soon to arrive I think something needs to be clarified here.

 

If you’ve been with anyone for any length time, it inevitably comes to a time when …

hmm I don’t know what to call it — lack of the element of surprise perhaps.

 

Just so all you guys understand this

 

When you ask your mate what she wants for Valentine’s day and she says something like,

 

"Oh nothing"

or

"You don’t need to get me anything"

 

Please understand that the code associated with this is very simple.

 

All of the above — and any others that sound similar simply means:

 

"I want something shiny and sparkly that I can show off to my friends.

Preferably, something that I can wear around my neck or something with gemstones to put on my finger — or something that dangles elegantly off my ears, or a treasure to put on my wrist."

 

Now just so we all understand this – when a gal says NO she probably means NO — but the word NO is NOT to be confused with "NOTHING" 

 

Got it?

 

She’s a wise, wise Woman! BIG HUGS, Steph

On a personal note, IF I were asked, I wouldn’t say, Oh nothing, I have no problem saying what I want, (in fact I have lots of fun saying exactly what I want) but, some Women say, nothing, and hope that you understand that nothing means she hopes you love and care about her enough to buy something. Now is sex on the list? A girl can hope can’t she? LOL

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kadrin
    Feb 13, 2006 @ 13:39:05

    Hi Steph, I love your valentine pics, thanks for sharing : ) Blabby

    Reply

  2. Jeanne-Marie
    Feb 13, 2006 @ 14:11:08

    Hubby and I have already exchange valentine presents. We couldn\’t wait. Lol He got the firefly series on DVD and I got a silver ruby necklace and matching earrings. I am content. Happy Valentines.

    Reply

  3. bren
    Feb 13, 2006 @ 14:49:31

    Well ain\’t you just the sweetest!Now give me the sugar cookies and nobody\’s blog gets bugged!

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Feb 13, 2006 @ 15:19:24

    Well, as you know I Always remember Valentines day!!  My life depends on it!!!!  And don\’t for a minute think that you got nothing!!!
     
    xxoo  Bob

    Reply

  5. David
    Feb 13, 2006 @ 16:45:57

    And yet, famously, we have been bombarded for years with the mantra "No means No", byt these same ladies.  I guess we are to understand that No means Yes when the gals get something, but No means No when the guys do?  Gee, who said this was hard to decode.  Guess what: "Oh, OK then" means the same thing in either case from the guys… 

    Reply

  6. K.T.
    Feb 13, 2006 @ 18:31:34

    D:  Yummy, I want some of those sweets!!!!  Have a fun time at the party.
    K.T.

    Reply

  7. Nikki
    Feb 13, 2006 @ 20:20:19

    Lol.  That is so true!!!

    Reply

  8. KatSoup
    Feb 13, 2006 @ 20:21:42

    Room Mom, How cute is that?
    I loved being baseball team mom. 
    the rasberry pink floats sound good too.
    have fun. sneak me a cupcake.

    Reply

  9. Huw
    Feb 14, 2006 @ 05:00:10

    Hi,
    Happy V Day! Hope you got a nice shiny thing for your neck and a nice surprise from your partner, or even someone else\’s partner! Thanks for popping to my site and even bigger thanks for reading so much! Yep screen printing is a crappy job and ruins all your clothes and makes you stink of white spirit all the time. It been a bit of a mad few years this end!! Its funny reading your blogs as you come out with so many Americasims (unless of course you\’re Canadian). Cup Cakes,sugar cookies and jello – I\’m in Wales so that sounds so….American I guess!
     
    A panto is a form of live Xmas family entertainment over here by the way. I love it but many people don\’t and think its really corny. Its always like Snow White & The 7 Dwarfs, Aladdin, Cinderella etc and full of corny jokes, songs, dancing etc. I\’ve worked in theatre for 12 years and put on loads, but again many people groan when you mention it. But all the kids shout and scream at teh stage – its hilarious.
     
    Anyway, thanks again for visiting – there\’s plenty more nonsense in the archive if you fancy reading some more stuff.
     
    HAve a great day and I\’ll pop back soon.
     
    Huw x

    Reply

  10. Leah
    Feb 14, 2006 @ 18:21:24

    shit forget sex, I can get that whenever I want a card or something showing that I mean something. Oh well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

