The Grass is always greener… how come?

What is it with most people, I include myself (at times)  are never really happy with what we have or who we are. Is it just human nature? We don’t really appreciate childhood, until it’s gone. I know I didn’t really relax and enjoy my teen years, I wish I had.
I read a young woman’s blog where she wants to be more than just ‘the pretty girl’. I read older people’s blogs where they resent that they are no longer ‘the pretty girl’ or guy. I’ve found that’s true, as I get older I find I become more invisible.
When I was young, thin, petite, and cute with big boobs, my friends used to use me as bait in the bar to get free drinks. During those years I remember being frustrated that most guys didn’t know I had brown eyes. Heck, as an old Mom, I think it would make my day just to get one double take! These are the days of, Ma’am, and ‘that’s Nick’s Mom’ (or Alaura or Lisa). Soooo I guess I need to take my own advice and just relax and enjoy being a "ma’am", someone’s OLD Mom…. heaven knows the outside of us always goes, even for the most beautiful, so I better make sure the one part of me that will stay young, my soul, and my personality, are not dull or boring.
 I think I’m doing pretty good so far, besides if they only knew some of the things that really go on inside my head…. well let’s just say that’s what keeps me occupied and is probably more fun than it should be. Are you enjoying where you are at in life? Being part of your children’s life, what ever stages they may be in? Relax, ENJOY, LOVE! BIG HUGSS, Steph
 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina
    Jan 06, 2006 @ 14:42:59

    The Mad Dad Challenge is going ok so far. a shake for breakfast, a shake for lunch, and a sensible dinner. however, my office mate has this really tempting bag of M&Ms just sitting there. Calling me. Mocking me. Must stay strong! For the Kitties!

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Jan 06, 2006 @ 22:04:56

    ok so I have always been really thin (see tinkerwhore pic on site) and then now I feel like a fat cow (see xmas pics 05). I know in reality I am not fat or a cow however thats how I see myself. I guess thats cause i got a whole mess of others issues too. I never let my friends use me for the "free Drinks" because I have never been all for the "piece of ass" only girl. I have always been, you better get to know me first. And unfortunatly I think I am the only one left that is my age. But I know what you mean. I do enjoy my booties, and trying to enjoy my "new" life.

    Reply

  3. Bruce
    Jan 07, 2006 @ 08:21:38

    I would realy like to comment on all of the wonderful posts that leave us… but, alas I do not have the time \’till I find a way to reincarnate my PC (sigh). I still like to sneek a peek ;-)Have a good oneBruce

    Reply

  4. Greg
    Jan 07, 2006 @ 14:42:16

    Steph…It\’s always so much fun to come around here.Life is what you make it. Sure who wouldn’t want to look like we once did?Hey, I can multi-task…Type, watch television, read, eat, and tell my kids what to do at the same time.But, it’s all good…When we get to heaven we will be 33 again. “We will ALL be lookin’ good!”

    Reply

  5. KatSoup
    Jan 07, 2006 @ 20:48:11

    I didnt enjoy my teens either. My 20\’s were great. Thirties I repaired all the damage done in previous years. Now at 40 ish i\’m enjoying life in the slow lane. I love the second cartoon \’Thats me!\’Im stealing it

    Reply

  6. David
    Jan 07, 2006 @ 20:48:26

    Oh Kit, after 60 it gets SO much worse. Just want to let you know in case you find yourself falling off a tall building, and you want to look on the bright side (or enjoy the moment)!

    Reply

  7. Melissa
    Jan 08, 2006 @ 18:02:05

    Just wanted to stop by and say Hi! Just came from Greg\’s blog and wanted to check you out. Nice space here. I remember the days of having that "perky" body. But after two kids oh well. I\’m married don\’t make a differnece. At least that\’s what huby says. I\’ll stop by and visit again. Take care – Missy

    Reply

  8. Indigo-XX
    Jan 08, 2006 @ 19:02:47

    It\’s crazy, isn\’t it? I would KILL to have my body during my 20\’s again so I could appreciate it more!The part I honestly love about aging, though, is not giving a rat\’s ass about what others think…I\’m much more comfortable in my own skin and that\’s worth a few crow\’s feet!

    Reply

  9. bren
    Jan 11, 2006 @ 15:43:07

    I love Maxine — she\’s my idol ;^)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

