My New Years Resolutions

Happy 2006! My New Year’s Eve was spent by myself, my kids all scattered to the 4 winds, so it was me, chinese food, movies (don’t waste your time or money on "The Brother’s Grimm", I do recommend, "The Island" was a good thriller(just don’t be like me and wonder how it is that clones are able to know things they haven’t been taught or exposed to)  with ethical and moral issues) and popcorn. I enjoyed the quiet, but missed my babies. My oldest daughter called at midnight to say, Happy New Year, that made me feel better. lol
This year just has to be better than last. What did you do last night? I wanna hear some good stories! BIG HUGS, Steph
 
 
 
#1. Try to be more tolerent of idiots. (Or better at pretending, until I really am)
 
#2. Remember to lock the bathroom door…
 
#3. Get my kids to understand that it’s NOT ok to let friends use the bathroom when I’m in the shower.
 
#4. Try to stop calling my sister at 8 or 9 am,  knowing before hand she’s not up yet, and getting perverse pleasure from saying, "What, she’s not up YET"? She and her family all stay up till all hours and then they sleep in (not because they have to stay up, they just do) So, I like to poke them with a stick once in awhile… ok, ok, i’m not proud of it, just admitting it! lol
 
#5. Try not to talk to strangers, or ask the kid with tons of tattoos, piercings and big ass holes in his ears, what he was thinking, and if it hurt. (at least when my kids are around).
 
#6. (sigh) Loose weight, argh
 
 
#7. I’ve noticed a lot more grey hair this year, so, I guess it’s time to color over them, so, I resolve to not be one of those ladies who go from brown to pitch black, bright red, or blue. I did notice a woman with pink, purple and black hair…. 
 
#8. Try to find, and introduce myself to the big goodlooking guy who drives the truck with the bumper sticker, "Find em Hot and Leave em Wet".
 
#9. Stop telling the girls that constantly call for my Son, (at all hours of the night) That he’s either in Jail or that because he gets too many calls, I’ve killed him, and his dismembered body is in the garbage can.
 
#10. Let my kids live another year. (You have NO idea how hard it is to resolve this in regards to my 18yr old son.)
 
#11. Try to curtail the number of times I have the fantasy that I’m outiside the local "Good ‘ol Boys" Police department, with a sniper’s rifle and picking them off one by one. ( My neighbor caused a car accident, she freely admits that she was at fault, but because they like her and the other party was a well known Doctor, they issued NO citations, nada, nothing). My boys, who are on their ‘shit’ list, get tickets for things like, failure to dim the lights fast enough, or not signaling to change lanes early enough. (I’m waiting for them to give one to my younger son for ‘looking at them wrong, or being flippant’). I have brother’s who are in law enforcement, but I still have this urge! LOL I guess i’ll work on it…. but, sweet are my daydreams! Who me bitter?? nawwwwww! lol
 
#12. Win a HUGE lottery, and then help those I love, and some I just like. lol
 
#13. Lucky number 13, Keep my mouth shut, and my opinion to myself, concerning family matters, no matter who asks, or what the situation. I’m Switzerland, I’m Switzerland. (Aw, who am I kidding, they never listen anyway). lol
 
Whew, I might think of more later, but, it’s going to be an interesting year.
 
Have you made your resolutions? Or do you make any? Has anyone kept one from last year?
 
 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leah
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 11:43:11

    I have one big one…. Make it through the day. One day at a time. And no matter how hard I try I will never be Switzerland. Its just not in my blood. Oh and I posted what I did all night on my page, basically couldn\’t sleep and was up till 4 and then booties got up at 6 screaming his little head off so I got all of ummm 2 hours sleep. Yeah go me.

    Reply

  2. Surendra
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 12:17:47

    hey ya, leave a comment in my spaceand well, i did not make any resolutions last year. this year, i am going off to college. it isn\’t much of a resolution, just something i got to do.later

    Reply

  3. Unknown
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 12:46:39

    Wow Steph,Sounds like you set a tuff row to hoe, good luck with that. I\’ve recently scaled back on my resolutions however, now I\’m gonna settle for learning to play the guitar, always wished I could play and now I have the time and the utencil as well as the crazy notion that I can do it, ha ha ha, smooches… Mikey

    Reply

  4. marc
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 12:55:01

    Some strange things happening in blogland……that message u left for me earlier today……it showed up as my name rather than your\’s as the URL link and source……that\’s the 3rd time it has happened to me this week……so I deleted it…..no offense…..it just worries me that it\’s some sortta MSN bug or something……but I appreciate your thoughts!!!!!! Have an adventurous 2006!!!!!

    Reply

  5. bren
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 17:47:19

    Great list! and regarding #12 — remember I\’m brenda_LIKE_junquedujour and that should qualify me for at least the LIKE part of the winning lottery list — right? about #8 — I always think of those types of blatant \’solicitations\’ and self braggings as being in the same category as the guys that drive vets — and you know what they say about them –and I hate to tell this — but from the ones I dated that owned vets —- well, they didn\’t come up with the cliche "if you\’ve got a big dick, you don\’t need a corvette" outta nowhere —so just be forwarned ;^) and apologies if this is a family-flavored blog and feel to free to deletedeletedeletedeletedelete

    Reply

  6. Greg
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 19:00:01

    Chinese Food…I have yet to find any good Chinese Food in Missouri.Man cannot live only on possum, grits, and gravy.Happy…Happy…New Year Steph :-)- Greg

    Reply

  7. KatSoup
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 21:57:09

    yea, how many of those ya think are gonna stick ?happy new year & good luck.I am glad we met, I have enjoyed getting to know you.Heres to another year.

    Reply

  8. KatSoup
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 22:09:23

    I collecting pictures of my friends. Is that you in the purple dress ?Dont be scared, Im not a freak. (well kinda)

    Reply

  9. Mad Suburban Dad
    Jan 01, 2006 @ 23:10:08

    What a great and funny list! My only resolution this year is to lose weight. Its been my resolution for the past 20 years and the one I always fail to do. So this year, if its my only resolution, I figured maybe I will have a half decent chance at it.

    Reply

  10. Litespreader
    Jan 02, 2006 @ 12:03:13

    wow, steph… that\’s quite the list! i guess mine wouldbasically be, to do better wherever i can, and hopefully not be too selfishor self-centered. your #1 cracks me up though. if i\’m putting the \’idiot\’ label on someone(which i find myself doing WAY too frequently!), itcancels out the possibility of being tolerant. and if i am trying to be tolerant, that means i\’ve put myself above someone else, which screwsup my resolution… i need alot of work!

    Reply

  11. Jim
    Jan 02, 2006 @ 14:39:13

    Now what is it that you want the truck driver to do? Keep this up and Santa wont be stopping by next year, unless he drives a truck! I also saw the Grim movie, not what I had hoped for, for sure. So what is it like for a kid to use the bathroom while taking a shower? At least they can hand you a towel, right? Good luck on the new year, and I hope at least some of you resolutions come true.Jim

    Reply

  12. EdgyKay
    Jan 02, 2006 @ 15:00:36

    Ah, yes. Good ol\’ #1. It\’s amazing how quickly our resolutions are challenged, isn\’t it? Thanks for your defense of me against "Fan of Darlene." Darlene — THE most materialistic, conceited, nauseatingly "perfect" person alive. Don\’t believe me? Just ask her. In between her FABulous trips, her brushes with fame, and her appointments at the tanning salon, the nail salon, and the hair salon. It\’s laughably ridiculous. Oh, and she\’s the SMARTEST person you\’ll ever know, too.Anyway. I have resolved to get a job that I love. But only if #12 doesn\’t happen.And your New Year\’s Eve sounds similar to mine; except I would have preferred your Chinese food to my snacky-crap that I ate. And, as usual, Sons #3 and 4 and I put together a jigsaw puzzle, watched the Twilight Zone marathon, and yelled out the front door at midnight. Very wild.Happy New Year, Friend!~k

    Reply

  13. K.T.
    Jan 02, 2006 @ 19:49:52

    S: AWw, your NY\’s Eve sounded like mine. Wow, thats alot of resolutions. i hope you accomplish them all.

    Reply

  14. David
    Jan 07, 2006 @ 21:11:16

    Re # 9 – you haven\’t told them about that nasty dose of clap medicine he is sleeping off?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

