The Good, The Bad and The Early (Shoppers that is)

My oldest daughter came in and tried to wake me up this morning, it was 4:30am. Somewhere in my food/sugar induced coma yesterday, I foolishly agreed to take my girls to the, early sales. You know, the ones that start at 4/5 and 6am, and go until 10 or 11, depending on the store. I have to admit there are some really good deals to be found, but, come ON, 4am??? 5am??? even 6 is pretty bad.
 
So, she tries to get me up at 4:30, and me in my ever so gentle, motherly way, renegotiate… I told her to let me sleep another hour if she wanted to live! My hour up, she was right there, I stalled, I thought of things she could do while waiting for me to get dressed (or get out of bed). My youngest started to bug me every 5 minutes, making sure I didn’t fall back asleep. Ahhhh sweet, sweet, sleep.
 
We left about 6am, they were so worried we were going to miss out on all the good stuff. I was worried that I might fall asleep driving.
 
I’m a veteran of these skirmishes. If you’re not careful you can come out missing an eye, even an arm or leg. Those ladies mean business, and they take no prisoners. It’s the standing in line that really gets to you. If you aren’t mentally prepared,… I’ve seen grown Men cry like babies when told they have to hold their honey’s place in line! If you really want to live dangerously, try cutting in line in front of a stressed out, hopped up on caffeine, sleep deprived early morning shopper. Heck, even if she thinks you are considering it, well, let’s just say, it won’t be pretty.  Traffic on the road is just as bad, Nascar, but even more competitive, and you better map out your route so there are no left turns!
 
Almost 12 hours later, I’m home… safe! We had a great lunch at Red Lobster, I scored the good stuff I was dispatched to aquire, I’m in one piece, my car is not scratched or dented, AND I made it home with both daughters I left with! All in all, pretty darn good. We’ll all sleep well tonight, and my girls learned that shopping is not for wimps! HU- RAH! I’m expecting a Metal at least!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bruce
    Nov 25, 2005 @ 19:30:20

    So… You got it all done ? Just think about all of the fun you will be missing😉

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Nov 25, 2005 @ 20:40:21

    you are better than I am. I like to sleep. And hate to shop so the idea of getting up at (what a normally think of as an ungodly hour) 4, 5 or even 6 is unreal, and not happening. The fact that I was awake at 7 and out of my house by 830 on a day off is amazing in itself. Congrats on making it home with your kids, your lucky you had red lobster for the seafood lover in me….

    Reply

  3. Kathleen
    Nov 25, 2005 @ 21:35:02

    Hey not to worry, I can\’t talk dirty to other women either LOL. On dirty comments day there were way more women signed up then men ad I tried, but I just couldn\’t do it. Hell I was having enough trouble talking dirty to the men (it\’s difficult when I don\’t know them LOL). I ended up just writing down a few dirty limericks and posting them. I am happy to see you survived Black Friday! Girl you have WAY more courage than I do! LOL Have a fabulous weekend!

    Reply

  4. SAAM
    Nov 26, 2005 @ 03:32:06

    There is no way I would drag my lazy carcass out of bed at that hour for anything. Good for you (I think)SAAM

    Reply

  5. Tim
    Nov 26, 2005 @ 07:11:10

    After seeing Fox News and CNN coverage of the Black Friday \’riots\’ on AFN, you deserve the Congressional Medal of Honor for surviving!!There are a couple thousand soldiers over here who are afraid to go home to all the violence and mayhem… what\’s going on over there!!?!!gotta go – the PX is having a sale on camoflauge!

    Reply

  6. Stephanie
    Nov 26, 2005 @ 09:25:37

    @Bruce, I have most of it done. Unfortunately, that means I have to do some more shopping, but, at least I\’ve been through the worst and survived! ****************************************************************************@Leah, I like sleep too! See, you weren\’t too far behind me if you were up at 7. My girls were so tired and soooo ready to go home, I almost wanted to tease them and say, "We have 4 more stores to go to!". I couldn\’t find it in me to be so cruel! lol Red Lobster was great, as we were walking out, we went to see the live Lobsters in their tank, there was a really big one hiding behind the filter, from the front you couldn\’t see him. We didn\’t give his secret away, and are rooting for him to survive these holiday seasons! lol ****************************************************************************@Kathy, I knew you\’d understand! That would be hard trying to talk dirty to a man you don\’t know much about, what if you told them you liked doggy style, and they were a strict missionary position kinda guy… or, what if you love to be kissed on the neck, and his turn on is kissing the small of your back, sheesh, what a faux pas! LOL Just teasin, these are Men, and I would think that just about anything you said would be appreciated by them! ****************************************************************************@SAAM, Thanks, (I think) LOL Actually I wondered about it too!****************************************************************************@Tim, Amazing isn\’t it??? People can become animals (I apologise to the animals, they don\’t act as bad) for such stupid reasons. I saw an article about 2 people fighting over the last laptop in Walmart, and they both ended up going to jail! Nothing is worth that!! I try to avoid those people with that crazy glint in their eyes. Camo?? a sale on Camo??? What colors, and is the price good, what sizes? Dang, I\’m missing out on a good sale! lol

    Reply

  7. Unknown
    Nov 26, 2005 @ 14:07:37

    Kittycat,A medal my butt, you should be put in charge of a platoon and sent back to the front lines, if even while 1/2 asleep your plan of attack went that well, we need more like you to oversee the skirmish… Mikey

    Reply

  8. bren
    Nov 26, 2005 @ 16:27:42

    So what did you get me?

    Reply

  9. jaker
    Nov 26, 2005 @ 16:48:19

    thanks for stopping by. S.C.S is Sevyn Cole Schwartz. My baby boy that passed away due to premature birth. His due date was nov. 24th and thanksgiving is the holiday i decided to remember him by.jaker

    Reply

  10. Indigo-XX
    Nov 26, 2005 @ 18:12:35

    I DO love a successful shopping story…I miss one or two things about being married. Number one was that HE was always out the door by 4:30 to stand in line for some amazing sale, heh.In response to your question: I also have 2 full-grown cats. That grey one is Cricket (or "Homo" , as my son calls him). Someone abandoned him and I fell in love with him at the animal shelter last year. He\’s about 4 years old, and a little effeminate, but soooo sweet. He wasn\’t too happy about the kittens at first, but they\’re starting to grow on him (probably because he gets to sneak some of their canned food). The little black one follows him around like a trooper – I couldn\’t believe they were hanging out on a chair the other day…

    Reply

  11. K.T.
    Nov 27, 2005 @ 13:35:36

    S: Congrats on making it back in one piece.K.T.

    Reply

  12. Stephanie
    Nov 27, 2005 @ 13:49:05

    @Mikey, lol Thanks! I think i\’d deploy ladies with pms, and premenopausal (sp). I\’d then tell them my views on their thinking they are gonna get virgins, and my thoughts on what I think of men who want virgins. I think I posted that on your site at one time. Men who are tiny and not good in bed need virgins. lol****************************************************************************@Brenda, You want a light sabre?? Or a fleece blanket? There\’s more stuff but, my girls would kill me! lol****************************************************************************@Jake, Thank you so much for telling me. I understand now. I also think that\’s a great idea that you remember him on Thanksgiving. ****************************************************************************@Indi, I used my girls to save places in lines while I ran and grabbed the stuff. lol About the Cats, he\’s not femmy, he\’s just a metrosexual male cat! Sheesh!! lolI have some that accepted our youngest ones and some that avoid them like that plague. I used to have a male, huge, long black hair, he would mother each kitten that came along. Cleaning, sleeping with them, watching over them. He was my baby, and we called him, "mama bear", his name was bear, and when he meowed it sounded like, Mama. He would only come to me when I called. I miss him very much. Your babies are sooo cute, i\’m happy they are with you who will love them. ****************************************************************************BIG HUGSSSSSSSSSSSSSs, Steph

    Reply

  13. Stephanie
    Nov 27, 2005 @ 13:51:06

    @King Tom, Thanks!!!! Sometimes you never know! lol

    Reply

  14. EdgyKay
    Nov 27, 2005 @ 16:45:27

    God! Shopping? Already?I\’ll stick to shopping on Dec. 24, thank you very much. By that time, people are so exhausted by holiday preparations that there is much more kindness and patience in the stores, etc. It seems to work for me…And thanks for defending my poor sleepy son. He DID just get up, and those are his Sunday loungin\’-around clothes, for Pete\’s sake! Flannel pants and a sweatshirt. Heaven.How was the Thanksgiving lasagna and tira misu? Any fatalities?

    Reply

  15. Touly
    Nov 27, 2005 @ 17:09:31

    Oh those places are such bastards! I waited like 3 hrs in line for beauty cosmectics and lemmie tell you, it\’s not fun when it\’s -20Celcius. They keep you waiting so long to make you buy more so you think you didn\’t waste your day I say. and yes, I did walk out with 200$ worth of stuff, and no, I don\’t even wear make up LOL

    Reply

  16. KatSoup
    Nov 27, 2005 @ 19:33:06

    I went shopping friday too. Everything fell right into place. Jon and I parked 2 spaces from the front. On the correct side of the mall for the nike\’ store. He found a long sleeve runnung shirt and a hat.We waited in line about 5 minutes.The shopping gods were with me:)

    Reply

  17. Jim
    Nov 28, 2005 @ 06:44:50

    Yes, I\’m OK, just had a real busy week, I\’ll get something posted this morning. Sounds like so much fun shopping, I have never been shopping after TG and I don\’t guess I will ever get up that early to go, the men will have to cry without me!LOL That would be some kind of a woman that could get me there! Hollywood hasn\’t produced her yet. But it must be like a good hunt for the women, and it sounds like you should bring your gun.Jim

    Reply

  18. Gina
    Nov 28, 2005 @ 11:44:11

    hmm…i don\’t think i would\’ve had the guts to go shopping with your daughters ever since the "shopping with the divas" thing

    Reply

  19. K.T.
    Nov 28, 2005 @ 13:03:46

    S: You were the only person to comment on my play on words. I thought it was clever. lol But it was not a body part, here is the orginal first verse:When I was a little biddy boyMy grandma bought me a cute little toyTwo Silver bells on a stringShe told me it was my ding-a-ling-a-lingK.T.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

