Happy Halloween

This weekend and the Holiday, monday, will be very busy for me, so, I’m saying it now. Happy Halloween. I have various costumes to finish, play taxi driver for the kids to their parties, an annual Library Birthday Fund Raiser that I always participate in, a Chili Cookoff (gotta defend my win),
and candy to buy for the urchins.  I’m room mom for my youngest daughter, and we have a tradition of a big Halloween party for the class. I give foods gross names and have a really horrid looking punch that tastes great. The kids love it, and always make sure I bring the putrid punch and monkey brains, etc.  Oh, Eggs and Toilet Paper to hide from my oldest two.
My parents never were into holidays. If the neighbor kids were lucky, Mom would buy a little bit of candy to hand out.
I used to make my costume, and later think of ones for my younger siblings. I remember going out with the neighbors and spending the night Trick or Treating. A good haul was a paper grocery bag full. Dave one of our neighbor boys would usually made it home with two of them full. Ahhhh the indulgence and sheer joy of that much candy to a kid.  Yes, even way back then, we had heard of drugs and razor blades in candy and fruit, a cursory glance and we were satisfied.  I would make my candy last, for what seemed forever. My brother, John, two years younger, would eat his as fast as he possibly could, then try and find my stash.  I hear so many people gripe about Halloween, I wish they would remember when they were young, the fun and excitement they felt, or the lump you get as a parent when you take your little one out and see that moment they make the connection of, all I have to do is say, trick or treat and people give me candy!!
The most embarassing Halloween, I was in 8th grade, and our family went on vacation during Halloween. My parents had befriended and older gentleman who was on the slow side, but he was very good with our dog. They asked him to stay at our house and take care of the dog, and hand out the candy my Mom had bought.  When we came back, I had kids I didn’t even know come up and either give me crap or just want to know what kind of weird people we were. It seems that Ray had run out of candy early in the evening, and I guess not wanting to turn anyone away, he looked through the kitchen for something else to hand out. My Mom never has been one to keep much on hand in the kitchen, so, all he could find was, potatoes…. Yep, uncooked good ol potatoes, and that’s what he handed out. One per person mind you! LOL It’s funny, now! So, Happy Halloween and here’s hoping you don’t get a potato. LOL BIG HUGS, Steph
 
Below, a cute Halloween Cartoon to make you smile, and, now, don’t get too excited, … me in my sexy Halloween costume! "I’m too sexy for my costume, too sexy for my costume, too sexy, Yeaaah"
 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rose
    Oct 27, 2005 @ 10:33:46

    So now you are forever branded asthe daughter of crazy potato lady? Hopefully the kids knew your mother was not personally responsible for such an attrocity. This is a great story though. I am so not a making costumes kind of mom, but I really admire those who embrace their inner domestic divas. The way I figure, I\’ve got a couple of more years before I have to get it right. But note to self…DO NOT,I repeat DO NOT give the neighborhood children potatos. Duly noted, Ma\’am!

    Reply

  2. Jim
    Oct 27, 2005 @ 12:12:15

    Ok, dont get too carried away on Holloween, and is that a pic of your Holloween costume!! I bet your kids would love that but what the heck you only live once. Jim

    Reply

  3. Unknown
    Oct 27, 2005 @ 16:20:16

    Kitty,Thanks much for the pix and tags, the tags are awesome thank your friends also, hope/wish I can stretch them w/o blurring them because I like them enough to want to choose one for my siggy, but all are awesome, hey I checked out your pin-ups also can I use one or two of those, one especially said turn off your pc mikey and let\’s play house, ha ha ha… Thanks Again Kittycat… Mikey

    Reply

  4. Stephanie
    Oct 27, 2005 @ 16:58:31

    @wish, I have a feeling that halloween is still being talked about in Lakeview, Oregon. As far as the costumes go, I don\’t mind, it gives me a creative outlet. Oh, and yes, let me stand as a horrible warning of what NOT to give out for Halloween. LOL@Jim, Yep, hairy legs and all, dontcha just love it? lmao (insert eyes rolling here). My kids friends think i\’m cool, my kids just think i\’m crazy. LOL ummmm Boxers huh? @Mikey, Glad you like them, I\’ll tell the ladies. If you want them bigger, let me know, I have Paintshop and Photoshop, either one will do it. Help yourself to any of the "pin-ups"… why do I feel like a Madam? lmao I had some in there that would have caused \’spontaneous combustion\’ but MSN in their wisdomless,(a real word I\’m sure) authority made me get rid of them. I like to push the limits, they don\’t appreciate it. LOL BIG HUGSSS

    Reply

  5. Stephanie
    Oct 27, 2005 @ 19:17:52

    Mikey, now i\’m curious, which of the pinups made you wanna play house? I wasn\’t gonna ask, but, I wanna know. LOL

    Reply

  6. Indigo-XX
    Oct 28, 2005 @ 05:21:25

    LOL! (And I thought toothbrushes/dental floss was bad!)😉

    Reply

  7. Bruce
    Oct 28, 2005 @ 06:37:19

    There are witches in my mailbox.What am I to do? I found them there this morning, doing things they shouldn\’t do!! How the witches got there, I haven\’t got a clue. But they won\’t be there much longer because I\’m sending them to YOU!!!!!! You\’ve been Witch Kissed! Before the warts begin to spread, pass the kisses on instead! HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

    Reply

  8. Red Skywalker
    Oct 28, 2005 @ 06:39:45

    http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a221/foufour/witch_decoration_.jpgThere are witches in my mailbox.What am I to do? I found them there this morning, doing things they shouldn\’t do!! How the witches got there, I haven\’t got a clue. But they won\’t be there much longer because I\’m sending them to YOU!!!!!! You\’ve been Witch Kissed! Before the warts begin to spread, pass the kisses on instead! HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a221/foufour/witches.jpg

    Reply

  9. Back
    Oct 28, 2005 @ 15:15:24

    you came from dunks you like my picss and you tell me im not circumcised and you like my ass hehethere more pics hiding away but will neverr find you need a link heheanyway of the crap hello pleased to meet you sweet space yuo have herespanks & licksblack

    Reply

  10. Stephanie
    Oct 28, 2005 @ 19:06:05

    @Indigo LOL yeah I\’m sure kids don\’t care for the toothbrush, but, better that than a potato. LOL@Bruce and Gert, Thanks for the kisses, I\’ve passed them on… I hope witches kisses are a good thing. lol@Black, Hi there! You can\’t post nude pics of yourself and not expect me to comment, oh and nice try having them be dark, didn\’t you know, Cats can see in the dark? This Kitty can! It really is a nice ass, I wouldn\’t have said so if it wasn\’t. LOL Nice to meet you.

    Reply

  11. Unknown
    Oct 29, 2005 @ 08:45:10

    Mornin Kitty,I would gladly e-mail you, if only I had the address, let me know and I shall be only happy too… Mikey

    Reply

  12. David
    Oct 29, 2005 @ 09:37:42

    I came here to leave a thanks in yr book for a tip you left me – and read this entry, and now I am going to get some H. candy and give it out instead of turning off my light because I DO remember how glorious my first H was. We had all taken those slim bags that wine bottles come in (Dad ensured that we had plenty of THOSE around!) and by the time we got to my aunt\’s down in the village, they were full and ripping apart – we never dreamed there were so many people in our tiny town and that they\’d fork out so handsomely. My aunt had to give us (besides our ration of candy – mere kindness and blood ties didn\’t let her off the hook!) shopping bags for the remainder of our foray into extortion. The potato story reminds me of one of the last ladies on our tour; it was late and she had run out of candy, and i actually think now she was embarrassed, but her reaction was to grump that she couldn\’t be feeding all the kids in town, etc. and forever after we called her, "Halloween Holler" – even unto this day, many many years later. I think my cousin now lives in Hallowen Holler\’s old house and it just goes to show you. i am not even sure what her real name was (HH\’s name, I mean; I know my cousin\’s name)

    Reply

  13. Stephanie
    Oct 29, 2005 @ 14:40:39

    You\’re welcome David. Sounds like you did have a good Halloween, glad you are gonna hand out candy. Funny how we give names to people as kids and it sticks even into our adult life, I had a "Bachelor Bill" he saved me numerous times from getting in trouble. He was kind and I remember had a huge collection of plates all over his walls.

    Reply

  14. bren
    Nov 01, 2005 @ 10:20:32

    Why dahhhhhhhhhling – you look absolutely … … uh …ummm… tasteless ? in your new costume ;^) LOL at the spud story! The Mr. tells me about a time when he was in the service and his buddy was living off base – they were getting all likkered up and handing out candy – then ran out of the sweets – so they started handing out beers. God I love that man! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Touly
    Nov 02, 2005 @ 19:40:05

    Kids these days, so unappreciative, so many in this world would love to have a potato, and think of it, it\’s the only thing you can put in water and watch it grow, can you do that with candy, hell nah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

