Today Sucks!

 I’m drowning my sorrows in a, strawberry, banana milkshake.  I spent all day at an auction, the house was built in 1901, huge, gorgeous. The lady who lived in it died at the age of 102, they were selling the stuff in the house. #1, things went for way too much, at least the stuff I wanted did. Paper mache black cat lanterns, and pumpkin ones from way back, $135.00 a piece,  a Redwing #1 crock with lid, $450.00, my first choice of the oil lamps, $155.00, an art deco vanity mirror, 145.00, curved glass front china hutch, 2700.00, OH a clock that has two faces, one was time the other was dates, 1500.00, tea cups and saucers (occupied Japan) 55.00 a set, salt and peppers 20.00 a set, a doll house vanity table from the 50’s, 55.00, the bigger stuff went even higher. Well there were quite a few oil lamps, I managed to get a smaller one for 55.00, I turned around to watch a bedroom set be sold and when I turned around, it was gone. I had witnesses who saw a blonde lady dressed really nice take it, but they had no idea that it wasn’t hers, until she was gone and I noticed it missing.  Thing is, the Auction’s policy, once you have a successful bid, you have to pay, no matter what. So, today I paid 63.00 total for the priviledge of standing in the sun, watching things sell, and finding out how truely sad and pathetic some people are. If I used the F word, I would have used it alot today.  So, I say, thanks, Heath and Heath Auctions for being hard ass about the whole thing, and a big thanks to the lame ass woman who could have probably afforded to buy 4 or 5 of them but decided to steal it.  I have no idea how people can gamble or even play the lottery, I imagine it’s like what happened to me today, you have the idea that you’ll go home with something good, but in reality you end up giving someone your money for nothing…. and the thrill of the day wasn’t worth it…. now, where’s the chocolate? LOL

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bruce
    Oct 23, 2005 @ 20:42:06

    Let\’s all hope her karma catches up to her soon, and a (((hug))) for you😉

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Oct 23, 2005 @ 21:23:46

    Thanks Bruce, I hope karma catches up to her and bites her in the butt! lol Thank you for the (((hug))), I wish it could have been in person, a hug always makes things better (I think so anyway).

    Reply

  3. K.T.
    Oct 24, 2005 @ 19:54:45

    K.C.: Sorry to hear about your bad auction experience. I had an occupied japan tea pot 4 sale in my garage sale saturday. I was asking $3(missing the lid)…I still have it! lolK.T.

    Reply

  4. Darren
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 08:42:34

    That sucks. You might want to check ebay out and see if this woman deicded to turn a little profit on it as well.

    Reply

  5. Lucinda ... cindi, too
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 15:17:29

    thanks for the visit. As far as NCLB, I\’m not worried too much for the kids, it\’s the teachers & administrators that are suffering . . .

    Reply

  6. Stephanie
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 21:20:26

    @ KT, Those ladies were snatching up anything that said occupied Japan, some of it pretty ugly too. lol Hang on to that teapot and if you ever come to Idaho, bring it along. lol@Darren, HI! and thanks for the idea, I will check ebay. Alot of people around here sell there.@Luci, When teachers suffer, the kids suffer. Your welcome on the visit, I really enjoyed it.

    Reply

  7. OrangeButterCat
    Nov 02, 2005 @ 12:16:45

    I\’ve got a chocolate with a starting bid of $16… any takers?!

    Reply

  8. David
    Nov 05, 2005 @ 19:27:58

    A lot of the antique and sale crowd are really vile opporuntists – my mom who goes to garage sales for fun has had people snatch stuff right out of her hands, since she is very elderly and quite frail. I did a g. sale one time years ago and the thieves and opportunists put me off them forever. And like the lady who ripped you off, they are often well-dressed (I think there is an instinct to trust well-dressed people a little more). Hope you find an even better \’find\’ next time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

