Escargot or (Mini) Crab legs anyone???

My youngest daughter and her best friend, our next door neighbor, Austin, are animal lovers, it was them who talked me into a big fish tank. (They tried talking me into much more, but I think supplying my cats with "lunch", birds, rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, was not a good idea). So, we ended up with a fish tank. We have mollys, swordtails, and tetras. I have to admit I enjoy it, even though it is me who cleans, feeds,  and medicates the little buggers. Our school librarian sent my daughter home with a snail, one, small snail (a Columbian Rams Horn) … I thought, what could it hurt? Well, the snail got the size of a half dollar, and then surprised me, because I had no idea they had both sexes in them… yep you guessed it, tons and tons of baby snails.  Like the good neighbor I am, (cough) I found out what neighbor kids had tanks and GENEROUS me, sent them home with their own lil snail! haha  My local pet store owner is really nice, so, I gave some to him! I still have a plethora, (I love that word) of snails. I was told, Skunk Botia eat snails, I now have two. I haven’t noticed any difference, so I asked one of the girls at the pet shop, she tells me that little red claw crabs love to eat snails. I bought a little guy, about 1 inch long. I have seen him eatting snails, he holds it in one claw and plucks out the body with the other,  then gulps it down. My problem, besides still having too many snails, the damn crab keeps escaping! I bought him last Friday and since then I have found him, on the floor, on the desk that the tank sits on, in the hood to the tank, in the filter to the tank, and in a plant that I have sitting next to the tank! I spend every 20 or 30 minutes or so, knocking his stupid lil butt back into the tank. I’m not enjoying this, he’s about 1 inch long and bears way too much resemblance to a spider (shudder). My question, how is it that I, as Mom get stuck with these wonderful duties after being begged and promised that Lisa and Austin will take care of it all? hmmmmmmm? Back to my original query… anyone for snails or crab legs??????

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KatSoup
    Oct 10, 2005 @ 20:03:53

    Ha Ha Ha oh my gosh !I used to love a fish tank too. Its soothing. I got a slime eater thing that looks like a slug and sticks to the side of the tank. ( I dont know the proper name for it) it sucked my snails right out of the shell. ( by accident) you might try a slime eater slug.🙂

    Reply

  2. Indigo-XX
    Oct 10, 2005 @ 20:17:47

    Sure, as long as you\’ve got some melted butter to go with that😉

    Reply

  3. Frana
    Oct 10, 2005 @ 21:08:55

    lol, poor mama!

    Reply

  4. Brad
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 00:03:21

    Cool! Red Claw Crab? That is fresh water, right? Hmm, I always wanted a crab as a pet. And a little turtle. Think they\’ll get along? Hahaha.

    Reply

  5. Stephanie
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 15:44:56

    LOL Kat, I\’ll have to ask the pet store guy. You\’re too funny, "slime eater thing that looks like a slug" he\’s gonna get a kick out of that description. LOL@Indigo, If he continues to get out of the tank, I\’ll send him WITH butter and a couple slices of lemon. LOL@Brad, Yes, fresh water, about an inch long. LMAO A crab and a turtle huh? Now i\’m curious as to why, that\’s not a combo you hear very often. lol Depending on their size, I\’m seeing them both in the same tank and it\’s like an old Godzilla, Rodan movie…. could be interesting and fun if you have a mini version of Tokyo.

    Reply

  6. Stephanie
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 15:50:44

    Thanks franarae, I could use a little sympathy. LOL

    Reply

  7. Touly
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 16:44:01

    LOLLLLLL oh no! how horrifying for the children to see their pets being eaten by other pets. I can\’t believe u can sleep with the knowledge that you might wake up with a crab on your face. Escargots in garlic butter is totally the way to go here. I bet it\’s much better than canned, and farmed fresh too! here ya go, i did a quick search for you.http://potsdecreme.com/search.asp?search=escargot+recipe

    Reply

  8. KatSoup
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 18:41:04

    Hey he\’ll know what it is🙂

    Reply

  9. Stephanie
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 23:21:21

    LMAO Thanks Touly, I showed the snails that recipe and told them… no more fooling around OR ELSE!! LMAO Don\’t tell anyone but, when I was in High School, one of my brothers had some gerbils in his room, which was next to mine. The stupid things would keep getting out of their cage, and he thought they had gone wild or joined up with some mice…. ummmmm well, my cat would wait for them to get out, and she\’d eat them. I really couldn\’t tell her no, she was too cute, and she just thought she was helping…. she knew I didn\’t like mice, and they are kinda like mice…. kinda. LOL@Kat, I\’m sure he will, he knows just about everything there is to know about aquariums.🙂

    Reply

  10. bren
    Oct 12, 2005 @ 04:15:45

    You\’ve become a slave to crabs. Yeah, I\’m with you — let\’s EAT!

    Reply

  11. Stephanie
    Oct 12, 2005 @ 22:53:14

    LMAO Brenda, sounds like a bad movie or book title…. "I was a Slave to Crabs" or maybe something you tell your Doctor?LOL Yep, where\’s the butter?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

