Kids!

Kids are so funny, always trying to get away with something, and their minds are just so fascinating how they work. Some recent examples…
 
My 10 yr old decided the other day that she didn’t want to go to school. She got up, took her shower and then started moaning and groaning how she hurt all over, was in too much pain, etc. I asked her what was wrong, she says, " I can’t go to school today Mom". I asked, why? She says, "I have too many growing pains".  lol
 
My sister has twin boys that are now 7yrs old. They are known far and wide for the trouble they get into and cause. Oh the destruction and mayhem! Yesterday, Noah, did something wrong, that he was supposed to apologise for, but, he didn’t want to, so he ran outside and hid. His brother, Nephi and a neighbor boy Cody were outside playing. Nephi and Cody go into the house a short time later. They say, (very calmly) Mom, Noah ran away. My sister says, Oh, really? Uh huh. She says, Ok. They looked at each other and went back outside. A few minutes later, they come in again… Mom, (very calmly) Noah just got ran over by a car. My sister says, OH really? Then she didn’t say anything. They said, did you hear what we said, he just got ran over! She said, OH, if he got ran over, why aren’t you upset? or crying? They look at each other, and on cue, start to fake cry! lmao She tells them, good try. Once Noah, (the instigator) realized that it wasn’t working, he came in the house. He had to apologise and they had a nice long talk about, the boy who cried wolf. Won’t slow them down though. lol
 
 
This past summer my son, 17 at the time, calls one night, is it ok for Paul to spend the night? I said sure! He says, give Paul’s Mom a call and let her know it’s ok with you. I had no problem with that. I called and let her know what was going on. My son, Nick, calls me about 11pm on Paul’s cell, and says, Paul isn’t feeling well, so we are gonna go spend the night at his house. I said, OK, i’ll call his Mom and let her know to expect you guys….. quiet on the line, and a whispered, she’s gonna call your Mom.(red flag)  He gets back on, OH we’ll just come home and spend the night there. They show up about a half hour later and Paul makes a show of, "calling his Mom" saying, hey I don’t feel good, i’m gonna come home, can Nick spend the night? Thing is, on most cells, I can hear a voice at the other end if i’m close. I heard no voice, but, didn’t say anything. Ok, they say, we are going to Paul’s. I said, Nite! A few minutes after they left. I called Paul’s Mom. She hadn’t got a phone call, didn’t know they were heading to her house, etc. So, when we hang up, she calls Paul on his cell, and says, Hey, how’s it’s going, whatcha doin? He pauses and asks… Did Nick’s Mom call you? She says, Yep… They were busted, with no intentions of going to Paul’s, who knows where they were going or what trouble they would get into. Since they were busted and knew it, they called me and came back here to spend the night, somewhat baffled as to how I knew they were up to something! PFFFFT I was a kid, once, stone age maybe, lol I also had 5 brothers. Aren’t kids funny? At least they keep things interesting. LOL Love them bunches!  Lemme hear your stories, it helps keep me sane! lmao BIG HUGSSS, Kitty

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Sep 15, 2005 @ 13:02:13

    Great post….My kids are grown and now I\’m into grandkids. 8 hurt herselfearlier in the week. I was babying her and 11 got jealous. She decided she was probably getting her period. I could tell she and her mom had a talk about it. She grabbed a pad out of her purse, put it on and started moaning and groaning. After dinner she was sick ofthe whole thing and took her get-up off saying she shure hoped she would never have to really wear anything like that.

    Reply

  2. Advice For Dummies
    Sep 15, 2005 @ 21:23:38

    Man, I remember those days!

    Reply

  3. CharlotteMae
    Sep 16, 2005 @ 19:40:18

    sounds almost like the story a friend of mine told me about her son and his friend this summer…. my kids are parents themselves now, but not only was I a kid once… but how well I remember my kids and the things they did… hav ea great weekend.. hugs, lottiemae

    Reply

  4. KatSoup
    Sep 17, 2005 @ 08:22:06

    Not only did you mess up the plans once, but twice. Nice parenting !!Thanks for comming to my space and going into that cyberbeg thing. I didnt want to log in there. If anything ever comes of this i dont want to have ever been there. Thanks again.

    Reply

  5. Stephanie
    Sep 17, 2005 @ 14:28:43

    LMAO@Lost, she\’s in for a big surprise!@AJ, I\’ll bet you do!@Lottie, Does it get any easier? @GaK, I take perverse pleasure in thwarting their plans, it\’s my only entertainment! LOL No problem on the cyberbeg thing, either she\’s really, really stupid or it\’s a scam. Please be careful.

    Reply

  6. bren
    Sep 18, 2005 @ 05:06:28

    Fun entry!Mom\’s are so good at running interference — I think it\’s a gift that comes with giving birth, huh? Seems the tactics don\’t change much from one generation to another – just the avenue of delivery, i.e. cell phones vs. morse code or smoke signals ;^)

    Reply

  7. Stephanie
    Sep 18, 2005 @ 10:04:56

    @junque, LOL yep sometimes I feel like I\’m from the \’chisel on rock\’ era. We both know that you and I would NEVER have done things like this…… (choke, cough) lmao

    Reply

Leave a Reply

