Online Crap…#2, The “nearly” departed

I’ve had a front row seat to 3 Men who ‘faked’ their own deaths online. I hadn’t ever heard of anything like that before, nor did I think anyone would ever be so lame as to do so, I was wrong.
 As before, the names have been changed to protect the innocent, and the stupid.
 
Example #1, Rhinoguy
 
Rhinoguy was a regular visitor to the Pogo room I played in. We all got to know him, online, very well. His story, he was a Park Ranger at an African preserve, working with and around wild animals. He was in England though, because his only sister needed him. Their parents were dead, and, If I remember right, he was supposed to be about 32, over 6ft, 10 inches,… you know, what every male on the net says. lol  During the time he was in the room, he got to know another regular, I’ll call her, Hotlips. They became engaged, and were making plans to meet, she was in the USA, and be married. About this time, he told us that he was going to have surgery, they had found a tumor. When hotlips wasn’t around, he would talk to me and tell me how scared he was, and how he didn’t want to say anything to her about it to worry her, etc etc. I was his friend, and believed him, so I tried to cheer him up, let him know that everything would be fine.
Day of the surgery, we were all waiting to here how it went. His, ‘sister’ came online and told us, he had died during surgery. He was well liked, we all got together and had a huge online wake for him. At that wake was his, sister. I’m not embarassed to admit, I cried, and was really upset. Awhile later, a few people began to be suspicious about his death. I’m still not sure how, but they found out that it was a fake, and Rhinos ‘sister’ was really him, as well as another guy that came into the room as his friend, (busy guy huh?) Once he was found out, he came to us all and admitted everything. Admitted that the whole surgery thing was a fake, and that online he was his, ‘sister’ and friend. He said he was scared, and got cold feet, hence the story. Hotlips was a better woman than I, she was actually kind to him, forgave him. I’m not sure she would have if she heard him tell me that if things didn’t work out with them, maybe we should give it a try, (fat chance). Not long after all of this, he disappeared again, never to be heard from… at least under those names. He sent me 2 pictures of himself, you can tell they aren’t the same man. He sent me pictures of the animals he was supposedly taking care of, one was a picture of a lion cub and then a grown lion, supposed to be the same cat, you could tell it wasn’t, the markings were all wrong.
So ends my first encounter with online death.
 I’ve had 2 others since, but, this time armed with prior knowledge I was able to bring the lies to light.  If you have enough info, it’s always easy to check these things out.
 The other men, the tattoo artist who ‘died’ in a huge car accident, and the one eyed ex cop from LA who was filming documentaries and ‘died’ in a plane crash…… yeah right, LOL. Both I beleive were because of women they had met online. The tatoo artist because she actually believed him when he said he loved her, (idiot) and the one eyed cop, because there was an actual possibility that she would be willing to meet him in real life. Most of the time this whole online stuff is just games people. It’s a way to connect with others, and make themselves feel good, important, sexy, wanted, you choose. Out of all the many online ‘luv’ connections I’ve seen over the years, only 3 have worked and are still going. Three out of 100’s.
The fun never ends!
 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kat
    Sep 09, 2005 @ 19:59:32

    Omg, that\’s so lame! I can\’t believe some people don\’t have anything better to do! I\’m sorry you had to be pulled into that one.

    Reply

  2. bren
    Sep 09, 2005 @ 20:23:11

    It\’s something how you can be anybody you want to be in cyberspace — well for awhile anyway. BTW: I\’m wearing a white teddy and matching garter and stockings — wanna chat ;^)

    Reply

  3. Stephanie
    Sep 09, 2005 @ 20:44:49

    @ Kat, It is lame isn\’t it? I was fooled the first time, but won\’t ever be again. In fact I enjoyed tracking down the other guys and letting others know it was a lie. (I felt like a detective!) lol@Brenda, Yep some people use this to play fairy tale… I\’m tall dark and handsome, I\’m a buxom blonde who hates to wear clothes, a sex kitten! LMAOBTW How did you know about the teddy and garter? LOL(mines black though!) lmao

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Sep 11, 2005 @ 13:30:31

    I was in the same pogo room and I attended the "wake" too!! Didn\’t take too long for everyone to get wise to him! And, I\’m PROUD to be one of the 3!!!!!

    Reply

  5. Bob
    Sep 11, 2005 @ 13:35:22

    BTW!! What color garter were you wearing when we met online, kitty?? LMAO!!!

    Reply

  6. Stephanie
    Sep 12, 2005 @ 15:07:15

    LMAO Bons, I think it was red that day…… Didn\’t you help me straighten the seams on my stockings? LOL You\’re a nut, I love ya!

    Reply

  7. Bruce
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 02:45:36

    3 out of 100 sounds like bad odds… but i think it doesn\’t sound so bad, when compaired to what works (and doesn\’t), for everyone else… I need to get busy ;-)I\’m always glad when you leave a comment

    Reply

  8. Stephanie
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 15:33:28

    You\’re right Bruce, the three that have worked, are good strong relationships. I guess I\’ve become jaded about it, I see so many people who always think the grass is greener. So many marriages and families destroyed or put through pain, so many hearts broken.I appreciate your comments, they help me to remember to look at things from another perspective. I like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

