I admire…

There aren’t many people I can say I admire, but, my friend Bob is one. We are friends in real life and online.  Not long after he and his wife Becky were married, he found he had throat cancer, scary for young married couple, and a man in his early 30’s. He had surgery, and part of it was having his voice box removed with the cancer. He has a hole in his throat, a stoma, that he breathes through. This happened about 20 yrs ago. After surgery he decided that he didn’t want to speak with one of those ‘box’ things. He went through therapy to learn how to speak (which I understand is very difficult). When he speaks, he sounds like he’s a little hoarse or maybe has a cold, but that’s it. He says, after all this time he still has people, and children stare at him. Thing is, he’s everything I think a man, and a best friend should be, and I’m not the only one who feels this way. He’s kind and generous, loving, talented, and one of the most intelligent people I’ve ever met. Yet he’s funny, and can be goofy. His wife says he’s a big dumb bubba at times. LOL

 He’s had to give up loves in his life because of the cancer, he was a professional musician (brass), but has gone on to develop many other talents, (you should see his bonsai trees) and taste his cooking! I don’t think there has ever been anything that I can’t go to him with and have him help me. For years I’ve loved bonsai, and it was his encouragement that got me into growing my own. I love it! Some nights online, if I’m not kicking his butt in Gin (lmao), I find we’ve spent an hour or so, just talking about cooking, roses, traveling, his time in the Navy,(during Vietnam) or once, it was just about rice. lol There’s not many topics he can’t converse on.

Now, I know that none of us are perfect, and, I don’t have to live with him.

 He and his wife Becky have the most wonderful sense of humor! My kids especially love Becky’s humor and think she’s the funniest. I admire Becky for being a new bride and going through such an ordeal. They’ve been married 25 years, and aren’t only man and wife, but best friends. They have a way of making you feel comfortable and like family, when you are staying with them, and Becky is a FABULOUS cook! I always feel like I’m staying at a 5 star hotel, the meals are that good, ask anyone who’s stayed with them!

I’m thankful I have them in my life. There are so many weird sick people out there; I wanted to tell you about two who aren’t, my very special friend Bob, and his beautiful wife, Becky.

 
 
 
Another person on this Earth that I admire, I’ve never met in real life. One day i’d like to. His name is Kenny. He’s very young, 25, and last year was in a skiing accident. He’s now a parapalegic. He has a blog space on here, I have his link listed, and here it is again…
 
Go read, cry and learn. He’s amazing!
Well, who do you admire? Let me know! BIG HUGS, Kitty
 
 
 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leah
    Aug 30, 2005 @ 11:41:43

    I didn\’t read this and I promise I will. But I think deep down I am scared someone will hurt my son. And I don\’t want that. I found out my neice was getting molested by her grandparents and that may have triggered it?> I don\’t know. But I know it has been going on since my son has gotten to walking stage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

