Thoughts on the first day of school…

I have conflicting feelings about the, first day of school. I miss my kids, (believe it or not) lol

What I do love is taking them that first day and seeing all the sweet little kids, dressed up in their new clothes, hair done so nicely, and their excitement of seeing friends they haven’t seen all summer.

Do you remember those feelings? I do. My kids always fuss over which new outfit to wear, the fun of new shoes that you had to wait until the first day of school to wear. Seeing old friends, meeting new, being scared and wondering if your new teacher was going to be nice. Is that cute boy/girl in your class, is the bully? Please don’t let me have to sit by the "weird" kid, who was into dinosaurs, star wars and later computers. He grew up to be drop dead gorgeous, and a nuclear engineer. If I only new then….

 

Do you have any special memories of the first day of school? BIG HUGSSS, Kitty

 

 I like the thought, and the picture just makes me smile! Enjoy! (click on it to enlarge it)

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KatSoup
    Aug 25, 2005 @ 19:09:43

    On my first day of kindergarten that woman tortured me by making me walk down very steep steps, you know the old metal fire escape kind, it was so scary. I cried all day. Seriously ALL DAY.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Aug 26, 2005 @ 19:22:46

    I remember going back to school each year!! I HATED school, except for the girls!! LOL My Mom would take me "school clothes" shopping and we always ended up in the "husky" section!! Sheesh!! Anything she bought me were NOT to be worn until school began!! Of course, we dressed much differently back then!! NO shorts, T-shirts, athletic shoes!!!! But I was always excited about starting a new year!! For about 2 weeks!!!!! Then it was off to school supplies!! What the heck was that protractor for anyway!!! And that half-moon thing was worthless!! But I always had the pencil box loaded for anything!!! LOL Then there was the wait for "snow days!! woooohoooo!!!But all in all, it was pretty fun!! PLEASE don\’t make me go back Mom!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Aug 26, 2005 @ 19:27:11

    OH!! And then there was my Algebra teacher, Miss Bowman!! She was HOT!! My, mmmmm, mentor!! LOL

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Aug 26, 2005 @ 19:28:57

    OH!! And there was my Algebra teacher, Miss Bowman!! I learned alot from her!! LOL

    Reply

  5. Bob
    Aug 26, 2005 @ 19:30:34

    Did I mention Miss Bowman??????? lmao!!

    Reply

  6. Stephanie
    Aug 26, 2005 @ 19:50:31

    (*-)) YES You nut, I know ALLLLL about that algebra teacher! PFFFFTTTTT LOL

    Reply

  7. Cassie
    Aug 26, 2005 @ 22:45:02

    hey, thanks for your comment and stopping by, get a dog up ya! means get stuffed, i dont no if get stuffed is more aussie slang:P, and fairy bread is buttered bread with sprinkles on it, when i say sprinkles i mean 100\’s and 1000\’s! very tastey:)take care!love,peace and a big toothy smile!cas *BIG HUGGS* right back at ya

    Reply

  8. Jnutsaz
    Aug 27, 2005 @ 18:02:30

    I peed my pants the first day of first grade because I couldn\’t bring myself to ask to the bathroom.

    Reply

  9. Stephanie
    Aug 27, 2005 @ 19:02:01

    I\’m amazed at who they let teach children. A kindergarten teacher who was cold enough to scare a little child, and a first grade teacher who was too stupid to realize that small kids are usually shy, and a little intimidated by authority. She should have shown the whole class around, then let you know it was OK to ask to get a drink or go to the bathroom! Hope you don\’t mind Jock, but it makes me wish I had been there to give hugs and let you know it was ok. My Dad was in education, teachers don\’t scare me, I\’ve seen too many who are only there to cash a paycheck, or so they can have the summer off. I walk a fine line with them though, I know they can and will make it hell on my child if I rock the boat too much. I\’ve become pretty good at being a diplomat.

    Reply

  10. Stephanie
    Aug 27, 2005 @ 19:03:24

    By the way Cas, I LOVE mighty mouse.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

